Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

Putnam County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Putnam County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Putnam County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Greencastle
Organized: December 31, 1821
Parent County(s): Vigo, Owen, Unorganized territory. [1]
Neighboring Counties
Parke  • Montgomery  • Hendricks  • Morgan  • Owen  • Clay
See County Maps
Courthouse
Indiana, Putnam County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Indiana, Putnam County Locator Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Israel Putnam.JPG

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Putnam County was named for Israel Putnam. It is located in the west-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Putnam County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square Street
PO Box 546
Greencastle, IN 46135-0546
Phone: 765-653-2648
County Courthouse

Putnam County Health Department
1542 S Bloomington St Suite 1500
Greencastle, IN, 46135
Health Officer: Robert Heavin, MD
Phone Number: 765-301-7660
Fax: 765-301-7665
Email: jyoung@putnamhealthindiana.org
Health Department

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1822, Divorce and Probate Records from 1825 and Court Records from 1828.
County Recorder has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Putnam County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1822 1882 1828 1824 1825 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Putnam County, Indiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Putnam County census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 8,262
1840 16,843 103.9%
1850 18,615 10.5%
1860 20,681 11.1%
1870 21,514 4.0%
1880 22,501 4.6%
1890 22,335 −0.7%
1900 21,478 −3.8%
1910 20,520 −4.5%
1920 19,880 −3.1%
1930 20,448 2.9%
1940 20,839 1.9%
1950 22,950 10.1%
1960 24,927 8.6%
1970 26,932 8.0%
1980 29,163 8.3%
1990 30,315 4.0%
2000 36,019 18.8%
2010 37,963 5.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Putnam County courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Putnam County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Montgomery CountyHendricks CountyMorgan CountyOwen CountyClay CountyParke CountyIN PUTNAM.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Mexican War

Civil War
Civil War service men from Putnam County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Putnam County.

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Putnam County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Putnam County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Crawfordsville Indiana Family History Center
1086 North 125 West
Crawfordsville, IN 47933-6142
765-362-8006
E-mail:IN_Crawfordsville@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Putnam County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Putnam County Library
103 East Poplar Street
Greencastle, IN 46135
Phone: 765-653-2755
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Putnam County Museum
1105 N. Jackson St.
Greencastle, IN 46135
765-653-8419
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Putnam County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.

Putnam County Historical Society
PO Box 116
103 East Poplar St.
Greencastle, IN 46135

Wabash Valley Genealogy Society
PO Box 9347
Terre Haute, IN 47808-9347
Website

Putnam County Genealogical Club
RR 1, Box 28
Bainbridge, IN 46105

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Putnam County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putnam_County,_Indiana 3/30/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Putnam County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putnam _County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Putnam County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putnam_County,_Indiana, accessed 01 January 2020.