Pulford, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Pulford, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Mary's Church, Pulford Cheshire
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
In 1848 - PULFORD (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester; containing, with Poulton township, it is 5¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Chester. The parish is situated on the road from Chester to Wrexham, and bounded by the Pulford brook, which separates this part of the county from Denbighshire. Here is a station of the Chester and Ruabon railway.
Pulford St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and includes Poulton and Cuckoo's Nest.
Pulford is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. It is believed that the name of the village is derived from the Welsh words "Pwll" (pool) and "Ffordd" (road). However, the current Welsh name for the village is Porffordd.
A church on the site can be traced back to the 12th century and the first Rector is mentioned in ancient records as Hugo.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Pulford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Pulford Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
There were no known nonconformist groups in Pulford. Search neighbouring parishes.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Here is a list of the districts that have included Pulford since 1837, with dates of inclusion:
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–74)
- Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–53) Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire
- Hawarden Poor Law Union(1853–71)
- Chester Poor Law Union (1871–1930)
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here are good sources for maps on-line:
Websites[edit | edit source]
Pulford on GENUKI
- Pulford War Memorial at Clwyd FHS
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 317, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 169, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013