Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Pulaski County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Pulaski County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Pulaski County, Virginia History
- 3 Pulaski County, Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African American
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land and Property
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.14 Naturalization
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Private Papers
- 4.17 Probate Records
- 4.18 Taxation
- 4.19 Vital Records
- 5 Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Pulaski County is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of Count Casimir Pulaski, an exiled Polish nobleman, who came to the colonies in 1777 to join Washington's army.
Pulaski County, Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Pulaski County Courthouse
45 Third Street, NW
Pulaski, VA 24301
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1882,
divorce, probate, court and land records from 1839
General compliance year is unknown.
Pulaski County, Virginia History[edit | edit source]
The county is named after General Casimir Pulaski (1745-1779), a Polish nobleman who died fighting for the Patriot cause in the Revolutionary War.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost census: 1890
Pulaski County, Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pulaski County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):122-123. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African American[edit | edit source]
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FHL.
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Pulaski County.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 - Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — index
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Pulaski County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection. Includes residents of this county.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]
- 1854-1875 - Drapers Valley Presbyterian Christenings 1854-1875. Batch C504741 at FamilySearch - free.
Court[edit | edit source]
Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search digital images of Pulaski County chancery records for the years 1841-1913.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Pulaski County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of several published books and articles.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families
- Heavener, Ulysses S.A. German New River Settlement: Virginia. 1929; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 F2ghu 1976.
- Kegley, Mary B. Early Adventurers on the Western Waters. 5 vols. 1990-1998. FHL Books 975.57 H2k v. 1-v. 5.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
An early settlers map is available for Pulaski County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers from 1776-1976. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5775 E7m.
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 575 patents dated 1746-1887 in what is now Pulaski County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2009. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Pulaski County, Virginia: A Historic and Descriptive Sketch Designed to Show Forth the Natural Advantages, Resources and General Adaptability of the Banner County of Southwest Virginia, to Agriculture, Cattle Raising, and also Commercial and Industrial Enterprises. Pulaski, Va.: Southwest Pub. Co., 1907. Availale at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1776-1976 Settlement Map of Pulaski County, Virginia. Available online.
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Pulaski County on page 136.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Pulaski County, p. 100. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War battle was fought in Pulaski County.
Regiments. Service men in Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy: 
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Pulaski Guards).
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Pulaski Guards).
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F.
- - Dublin Provost Guard (Confederate)(Information about this Pulaski County Guard can be found on page 275 of the preceding reference 1.)
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Private Papers[edit | edit source]
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1838-1859 - Pulaski County Wills 1838-1859 (New River Notes) - free.
Online Probate Records
- 1840-1859 - Images of Wills, Guardianships, Inventories, Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1859-1871 - Images of Wills, Guardianships, Inventories, Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
|Online Pulaski County, Virginia Tax Lists|
-  Personal Property Tax List, 1839, Virginia Appalachian Notes Vol. 7, No. 1 (Feb. 1983), pp. 1-7; online at Roanoke Public Library - free.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1893 - Fridley, Beth. Pulaski County, Virginia Births, 1853-93 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1838-1845 - Pulaski County Marriages 1838-1845 (New River Notes) - free.
- 1851-1900 - Virginia Marriages 1851-1900 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church History and Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Pulaski Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Pulaski County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- FamilySearch Catalog
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Prince William County, Virginia. Page 719 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pulaski County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pulaski County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulaski_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
- Pages 257-275, The Land That Is Pulaski County FHL book 975.5775 H2s Pulaski County
- FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29 titled A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865.
- James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
- Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.