Pulaski County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pulaski County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Pulaski County

Guide to Pulaski County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Waynesville
Organized: January 19, 1833
Parent County(s): Crawford and Morgan
Neighboring Counties
Miller  • Maries  • Phelps  • Texas  • Laclede  • Camden
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriPulaskiCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Pulaski County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Kazimierz Pułaski. The County has Waynesville as its seat and the County was created January 19, 1833. The County is located in the south center area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse

Pulaski County Courthouse
301 Historic 66 East
Waynesville, MO 65583
Phone: 573-774-4701
Pulaski County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1903.[2]

Pulaski County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1910 1903 1910 1903 1903 1903 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

1903 Courthouse fire destroyed most Pulaski County Court records on June 13, 1903.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1833 Pulaski County created from Crawford and Morgan Counties.

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Pulaski County, Missouri:

  • Crocker
  • Fort Leonard
  • Richland
  • Waynesville

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Family Biographies from The History of Pulaski County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Pulaski County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pulaski County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Laclede, Camden, Dallas, Webster, Wright, Texas, Pulaski, Phelps and Dent Counties, Missouri. 1889. Chicago : Goodspeed. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Pulaski County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pulaski County, Missouri:

- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company B
- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company C

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pulaski County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Genealogy/Historical Society of Pulaski County
    P.O. Box 144
    Waynesville, MO 65583
    Phone: 573-774-6883
    Email: jemumer@yahoo.com
    Website

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Pułaski, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulaski_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/13/2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pulaski County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.