Pulaski County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pulaski County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Pulaski County
 

Guide to Pulaski County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Little Rock
Organized: December 15, 1818
Parent County(s): ArkansasCounty[1]
Neighboring Counties
Faulkner  • Grant  • Jefferson  • Lonoke  • Perry  • Saline
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasPulaskiCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-pulaski.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Casimir Pulaski. The County Seat is Little Rock and was founded December 15, 1818. It is located in the central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Pulaski County Courthouse
401 W Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone 501.340.8500
Pulaski County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1838, probate records from 1820, voter registration records from 1952, real estate tax records from 1828, personal property tax records from 1869 and poll tax from 1892;
Clerk Circuit Court has court, land an naturalization records;
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records; History Commission has probate court records before 1920.[3]

Pulaski County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1838 1914* 1839 1819 1820 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1818--Pulaski County was created 15 December 1818 from Arkansas County. 
  • County seat: Little Rock[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Pulaski County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Pulaski, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 2,395
1840 5,350 123.4%
1850 5,657 5.7%
1860 11,699 106.8%
1870 32,066 174.1%
1880 32,616 1.7%
1890 47,329 45.1%
1900 63,179 33.5%
1910 86,751 37.3%
1920 109,464 26.2%
1930 137,727 25.8%
1940 156,085 13.3%
1950 196,685 26.0%
1960 242,980 23.5%
1970 287,189 18.2%
1980 340,613 18.6%
1990 349,660 2.7%
2000 361,474 3.4%
2010 382,748 5.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820--Census is missing.

Church Records

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Little Rock

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Biographies from The History of Pulaski County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Guardianship

  • 1818-1920 — Probate Records Pulaski County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 — Includes Administration records 1839-1902; County Court records 1846-1857; Guardianship 1864-1911; Probate packets 1819-1920; Wills 1818-1849; and more — at FamilySearch (Free, browse images)

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Faulkner CountyLonoke CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountySaline CountyPerry CountyAR PULASKI.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include"an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Pulaski County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company D
- 4th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, C, D and E
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and I
- 36th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and K.
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[8], Companies C, G, H, K, L and M
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)

Online Records

Civil War Battle Fought in Pulaski County

The following Civil War battle was fought in Pulaski County.

  • 1863 - September 10 = Bayou Forche, also known as Little Rock[9]
Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pulaski County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Pulaski County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulaski_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pulaski County, Arkansas. Page 70 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Pulaski County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulaski_County,_Arkansas, accessed 26 September 2018.
  7. Ron Copeland, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=409&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Pulaski County.”
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 April 2012).
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.