To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Prior's Heys, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Prior's Heys, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Prior's Heys, Cheshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Prior's Heys (formerly Pryor's Hayes) was an extra-parochial place in Eddisbury Hundred (Map Grid SJ 5166), which became a civil parish in 1858[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Prior's Heys is an extra-parochial place. To find church records, look at surrounding parishes.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

Here is a list of the districts that have included Priors Heys since 1837, with dates of inclusion:

  • Great Boughton (1837-1870)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Chester (1937-present)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Great Boughton

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Before 1858, records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were probated by the ecclesiastical court with jurisdiction over this place. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here some online gazetteers and maps for England.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Prior's Heys on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. UK and Ireland Genealogy Genuki. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013