Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area, Alaska Genealogy
Guide to Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area, Alaska Genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area, Alaska|
Location in the state of Alaska
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
|County Seat||No borough seat|
- 1 Description
- 2 Historical Facts
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
Description[edit | edit source]
Formerly part of the Prince of Wales-Outer Ketchikan Census Area, the Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area was renamed in 2008 after it lost most of the Outer Ketchikan to the Ketchikan Gateway Borough. It has no borough seat. This census area is located in the southeastern part of the state.
- Prince of Wales Island is the fourth-largest island in the United States (after Hawaii, Kodiak Island, and Puerto Rico), and the 97th-largest island in the world. It was explored by the Russians, Spanish, British, and French, and was named for George Augustus Frederick, Prince of Wales (later King George IV).
- The community of Hyder is the easternmost town of Alaska and is notable for being the only place in Alaska not to use the 907 area code, instead using British Columbia's 250. Tourists also find that Hyder uses the Pacific Time Zone, the "preferred" currency is Canadian (except the U.S. Post Office, which accepts only American currency), observes Canadian holidays, send their children to a Canadian school, and calling the police means a Canadian Mountie will respond. Electricity comes from Canada, as the local electric utility is British Columbia's BC Hydro.
- This area is traditional Tlinget territory, with the Haida tribes resettling on the island in the late 18th century from what is now Northern British Columbia. In 1887, William Duncan, a lay minister of the Anglican Church, settled Annette Island with a group of Tsimshian natives from Metlakatla, British Columbia, founding the community of "New" Metlakatla.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
It was formerly part of the Census Bureau's Prince of Wales-Outer Ketchikan Census Area, but the name was changed in 2008 after most of the Outer Ketchikan (except the parts near the community of Hyder, and Annette Island) was lost to annexation by the Ketchikan Gateway Borough.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this census area.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Boroughs, Census Areas, and Districts[edit | edit source]
- Petersburg Census Area - north
- City and Borough of Wrangell, Alaska - northeast
- Ketchikan Gateway Borough - between Prince of Wales and Hyder
- Kitimat-Stikine Regional District, British Columbia - east
- Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District, British Columbia - south (water boundary only)
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:
|Native American communities|
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1934 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Military Service Discharge Records, 1898-1934 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1940-1945 - Alaska, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1884-1991 - Alaska Naturalization Records, 1884-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1972 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Naturalization Records, 1900-1972 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Alaska Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes a title for Thorne Bay.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- Alaska Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1816-1959 Alaska, Vital Records, 1816-1959 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Ketchikan Gateway Borough and Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area. Alaska GenWeb Project
- Prince of Wales-Outer Ketchikan Trails to the Past
- USGenWeb Archives
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Prince of Wales–Hyder Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_of_Wales%E2%80%93Hyder_Census_Area,_Alaska 18 June 2018.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_of_Wales–Hyder_Census_Area,_Alaska, accessed 25 February 2019.