Prince George's County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Prince George's County

Guide to Prince George's County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Upper Marlboro
Organized: October 3, 1695
Parent County(s): Calvert, Charles[1]
Neighboring Counties
Anne Arundel  • Calvert  • Charles  • Howard  • Montgomery  • Alexandria (VA)  • Fairfax (VA)  • District of Columbia (DC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Prince George's County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
MD Prince George's map.png
Adoption
Prince George of Denmark

County Information

Description

The County was named for Prince George of Denmark. The County has Upper Marlboro as its seat and the County was created April 23, 1696. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Prince George's County Courthouse
14735 Main Street
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772-3050
Phone: 301-952-3318
Prince George's County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has land and court records.
Register of Wills has probate records.[3]

Prince George's County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1898 1696 1698 1776

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The 1830 Census is missing.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Prince George's County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information
  • Cemetery Transcriptions includes partial transcriptions for Ammendale Cemetery-Ammendale-(Christian Bros.), 11007 Montgomery Road, Beltsville, MD
  • Fort Lincoln Cemetery, Brentwood
  • White Marsh Cemetery-Bowie MD

Census Records

For tips on accessing Prince George's County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 21,344
1800 21,175 −0.8%
1810 20,589 −2.8%
1820 20,216 −1.8%
1830 20,474 1.3%
1840 19,539 −4.6%
1850 21,549 10.3%
1860 23,327 8.3%
1870 21,138 −9.4%
1880 26,451 25.1%
1890 26,080 −1.4%
1900 29,898 14.6%
1910 36,147 20.9%
1920 43,347 19.9%
1930 60,095 38.6%
1940 89,490 48.9%
1950 194,182 117.0%
1960 357,395 84.1%
1970 660,567 84.8%
1980 665,071 0.7%
1990 729,268 9.7%
2000 801,515 9.9%
2010 863,420 7.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
  • The 1830 Census is missing.
  • Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. By Gaius Marcus Brumbaugh. 1915. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company. Available online at Google Books. Provincial Census of August 31, 1776, Prince George's County: St. John's and Prince George's Parishes (89 pages of facsimile reproductions and index). Pages 1-89.
  • Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives. The following records, taken from its collection, have been digitized and made available to view for free online:

Church of England

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Capitol Heights
  • Greenbelt

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Addison] Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive | Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online;Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • [Addison] Lomax, E.L. Genealogy of the Virginia Family of Lomax. Chicago: Rand McNally and Co., 1913. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Bates] Russell, Donna Valley. "The Maternal Ancestry of Mary Bates, Wife of Lingan Wilson of Prince George's County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):72-76. Available at FHL.
  • [Beall] See Bates.
  • [Beckwith] Hoff, Henry B. "Alexander de Hinojosa and His Descendants in Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 2004):260-273. Available at FHL.
  • [Boteler] Russell, Donna Valley. "The Boteler Family of Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 70, No. 1 (Jan. 1995):9-17. Available at FHL.
  • [Bowell] Bowell, Lillian and William Bowell. A Bowell Family History. St. Paul, Minn.
  • [Buckerfield] See Bates.
  • [Calvert] Douxchamps, Hervé, Jan Botemans and Henry Hoff. Rubens et ses Descendants. Volume IV, La Descendance Lunden. Brussels, Belgium: Office Généalogique et Héraldique de Belgique, 1985. 1977 edition: FHL Book 929.2493 R823d.
  • [Chapline] Dare, Maria J. Liggett. Chaplines from Maryland and Virginia. Washington, D.C.: M.J.L. Dare, 1902. FHL Film 896749 Item 3; digital version at Internet Archive.
  • [Chilton] Dorman, John Frederick. "The Chilton Families of Virginia and Maryland," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):71-78; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):121-125; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):167-174; Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1968):15-18; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1968):83-86; Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):109-113; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):169-175; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1969):32-36; Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):65-71; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1969):177-180; Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):15-22; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):75-82; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):123-128; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):165-168; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):32-41; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):122-124; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):259-264; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):301-306. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 11-v. 16.
  • [Crauford] Tyler, Lyon G. "The Blackburns, of 'Ripon Lodge,'" The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 4 (Apr. 1896):266-269. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • [D'Hiniossa] Hoffman, William J. "Alexander D'Hiniossa, The Last Dutch Director on the Delaware," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 73, No. 4 (Oct. 1942):246-250. Digital version at The New York Genealogical and Biographical Society ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 73.
  • [Elder] Donnelly, Mary Louise. Maryland Elder Family and Kin - William Elder 1707-1775 Emmitsburg, Md. Pioneer. Burke, Va.: M.L. Donnelly, 1975. FHL Book 929.273 EL22d.
  • [Gambra] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. Available at FHL.
  • [Hawley] Hawley, Laura. Hawley, Halley, Holley and Families of Similar Surnames Found in Early Records of England, Maryland and Virginia. Bowie, Md.: Willow Bend Books, 2003.
  • [Hepburn] See Bates.
  • [Holdsworth] See Bates.
  • [Ingram] Barnum, Dorothy Jeter and George Ely Russell. “James Johnson alias Ingram: A Southern Odyssey,” National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 76, No. 1 (Mar. 1988):5-16. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 76 (1988).
  • [Ingram] Barnum, Dorothy Jeter. The James and Mary Kendall Ingram Family. Moultrie, Georgia: D.J. Barnum, c1988. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 In4ba; Film 1320971 Item 11.
  • [Lamar] Lamar, William Harmong, "Thomas Lamar of the Province of Maryland, and a Part of His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1897):203-210. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.
  • [Lamar] Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Heraldica: Being a Registry of Virginia Gentry Entitled to Coat Armor, With Genealogical Notes of the Families. New York: The Genealogical Association, 1908. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Parker] See Bates.
  • [Pottenger] Thompson, Neil D. and Paul C. Reed. "Falsehood and Truth: The Ancestry of John Pottenger, Immigrant to Maryland in 1684," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 3 (Jul. 1993):139-145. Available at FHL.
  • [Prather] Lewis, Olan R. The Thomas Prather Family. Lakeport, Calif.: O.R. Lewis, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 5324.
  • [Rawlins] Lancaster, Jeannie. "Rawlins Family," Tree Builders, Christian County Genealogical Society, Vol. 27, No. 3 (Fall 2006):57-67.
  • [Reagan] Reagan, Donald B. Smoky Mountain Clans. 3 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: D.B. Reagan, 1978-1983. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273R22b 1978. [The Reagan family is discussed in Vol. 1.]
  • [Scearce] McNamara, Elizabeth W. Weakley, Scearce, Arnold Families of Kentucky, Their Descendants and Ancestral Families. Baltimore, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 W371m.
  • [Smith] Russell, Donna Valley. "Nathan and Thomas Smith of Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 65, No. 4 (Oct. 1990):230-232. Digital version at American Ancestors ($); FHL Collection
  • [Sprigg] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. FHL Book 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Taylor] Dennstedt, Albert Marjorie. "Richard and Ann Taylor's Descendants in Maryland and Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 40, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1996):29-38; Vol. 40, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1996):134-145; Vol. 40, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1996):199-211; Vol. 40, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1996):282-293. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Welsh] Russell, George Ely. "Molly Welsh: Alleged Grandmother of Benjamin Banneker," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 94, No. 4 (December 2006):305-314. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 94 (2006)
  • [Wheat] Monk, Arliss Shaffer. "Undocumented Genealogies: To Trust or Not to Trust? Lessons from Several Strains of Wheat," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 86, No. 1 (March 1998):37-49. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 86 (1998)
  • [Wilson] See Bates.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Prince George's County Deed Books (1696-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Prince George's County

Migration

Military Records

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company, 1915. Digital version at Google Books. Two Muster Rolls, Militia Prince George's County, French War, 1799, giving Dates of Birth of Soldiers, are listed on pages 173-175.

Revolutionary War

Prince George's County men served in the 3rd Maryland Regiment[6] and the 6th Maryland Regiment.[7]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Prince George's County on page 127.
  • Revolutionary Records of Maryland. By Gaius Marcus Brumbaugh and Margaret Roberts Hodges. 1924. Washington, D.C.: R.H. Darby Print. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Contains lists of Prince George's County men involved in the Revolutionary War.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Prince George's County, pp. 153-154. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Prince George's served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Prince George's:

- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Battery H Light Artillery.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1733 Russell, Donna Valley. "1733 Taxables," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 3, No. 3 (July 1987):99-103.
  • 1828 1828 Tax List Prince George's County, Maryland. editor, Shirley Langdon Wilcox; compiled by Prince George's County Genealogical Society. - [Bowie, Md?] The Society, 1985. - 130 p.FHL 975.251 R4t. F187.P9 A13 1985

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Greenbelt Museum
    10B Crescent Road
    Greenbelt, MD 20770
    Phone: 301-507-6582
    Facebook
    Website

Societies

  • Afro-American Historical & Genealogical Society, Inc.
    Prince George's County MD Chapter
    PO Box 44252
    Fort Washington, MD 20749-4252
    Email: janemaur@aol.com
    Website
  • Greenbelt Historical Society
    204 Lastner Lane
    Greenbelt, MD 20770
    Phone: 301-474-5156
  • Prince George's County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 819
    Bowie, MD 20718-0819
    Phone: 301-262-2063
    Email: information@pgcgs.org
    Facebook
    Website
  • Prince George's County Historical Society
    Facebook
    Website
  • Riversdale Historical Society
    4811 Riverdale Road
    Riverdale Park, MD 20737
    Phone: 301-864-0420
  • Laurel Historical Society
    817 Main Street
    Laurel, MD 20707
    Phone: 301-725-7975
    Email: info@laurelhistoricalsociety.org
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Prince George, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_George%27s_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Prince George's County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_George%27s_County,_Maryland, accessed 10 August 2018.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "3rd Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3rd_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.