Prince Edward Island Language and Languages

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Canada Gotoarrow.png Prince Edward Island Gotoarrow.png Language and Languages

Prince Edward Island Research Topics
Prince Edward Island Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Prince Edward Island Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Language and Languages

English and French are the two official languages of Canada. Both languages are used on highway signs, maps, tourist brochures and packaging.

In Prince Edward Island, English is the predominant language with French spoken widely, especially in Acadian and Francophone communities. In fact, by percentage of population, Prince Edward Island has the third highest rate of bilingualism in Canada; 12.7 per cent of the population self-identify as speaking both English and French. Many immigrants still speak their mother tongue. Some materials used in French Canadian research are written in French. However, you do not need to speak or read French to do research. You just need to know some key numbers, words, and phrases to understand the French Canadian records. French grammar and customs may affect the way names appear in genealogical records. For example, the names of your ancestor may vary from record to record in French. You may find other languages in the records. These include English and Latin. Latin is sometimes found in very early Roman Catholic parish registers.

Language Aids:

The Family History Library has published a French Word List and a Latin Word List. The lists contain words often found in genealogical research with their English translation.

The following books and English-French dictionaries can also help you in your research. You can find these and similar materials at many research libraries:

FRENCH RECORDS EXTRACTION MANUAL: Shows examples of French civil records, parish records, and handwriting. Has list of personal names and translations of common words used in the records.

New Cassell's French Dictionary: French-English, English-French. New York, NY, USA: Funk & Wagnalls, 1970. (Family History Library book 443.21 C272.)

Boudreau, Dennis M. Beginning Franco-American Genealogy. Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA: American-French Genealogical Society, 1986. (Family History Library book 973 D27bo.)

Additional language aids are listed in the Locality Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under FRANCE - LANGUAGE AND LANGUAGES or in the Subject Search under FRENCH LANGUAGE - DICTIONARIES.

Key Words:

With a knowledge of the basic words, most English-speaking persons can read many of the French Canadian records used for genealogical research. These are some of the most common words and abbreviations in French Canadian church records, vital records, and genealogical collections:

French-English Translation

à in, at, to
acte record
an year
année year
au New Brunswick in, to the province of New Brunswick
b baptized, christened
baptême baptism, christening
baptisé baptized, christened (masculine)
baptisée baptized, christened (feminine)
de of, from
du New Brunswick of the province of New Brunswick
def. deceased
deft deceased
défunt deceased (masculine)
défunte deceased (feminine)
enfant child
épouse wife
époux husband
et and
femme wife
feu(e) late, deceased
fille daughter
fils son
illégitime illegitimate inconnu(e) unknown, surname not known
m marriage
mari husband
mariage marriage
marié husband
marieé wife
mois month
n born
naissance birth
né born (masculine)
née born (feminine)
père father
répertoire index
s burial
Saint Saint (masculine)
Sainte Saint (feminine)
sépulture burial
St Saint (masculine)
Ste Saint (feminine)
ve widow
veuf widower
veuve widow
vf widower
vve widow


Visual Census – Language, Prince Edward Island

Navigation menu