Prince Edward Island Acadian Records
|Prince Edward Island Wiki Topics|
|Prince Edward Island Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Généalogie Acadienne Database--Search Engine The biggest Acadian genealogy database. More than 800,000 individuals are available.
- 1757-1946 - Acadia, Canada, Vital and Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1757-1946], index and images, ($). List of Acadian parish registers in the Drouin collection
- GenealogyQuebec.com, the Drouin Instiute’s genealogical research website, offers two research tools dedicated to Acadian genealogy. ($)
- The Drouin Collection Database, a collection of parish registers (baptisms, marriages and burials) from Quebec, Acadia, as well as parts of Ontario, New Brunswick and the United States. The collection also contains Acadian censuses from 1673 to 1784. ($)
- The Acadia Families Tool This tool contains family files based on the Acadian parish records mentioned above. In total, the tool contains 96,000 family files from 1621 to 1849 and is equipped with a search engine which allows searches by last name, first name, date and parish. In addition, the original records are attached to the family files, allowing the information contained in them to be viewed and verified.($)
- This list of approximately 300 family names was drawn from parish records, census records and other documents from Acadia/Nova Scotia in the first half of the 18th century. All Acadian civilian families known to have lived in the colony at any time between 1700 and 1755 are included. This list does not include the families of the French garrison which served in Acadia.
- Who's who in Acadian/Cajun genealogical research
- Acadian Censuses at WikiTree 1671-1809
- Acadian Censuses at Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History, 1671-1752
Reading French Records[edit | edit source]
- French Genealogical Word List
- Latin Genealogical Word List
- Reading French Handwritten Records
- French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual
History[edit | edit source]
The area comprising today's New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island was once known as Arcadie. Eventually the name became Acadia. The area was first settled by the French in 1605. The territory passed back and forth from French to English hands many times. In accordance with the Treaty of Utrecht, France ceded the Nova Scotia peninsula and the New Brunswick area to England. England did little to settle the area and the French-speaking Acadians were the majority until about 1750. France still retained Ile Saint-Jean (now Prince Edward Island) and Cape Breton Island (now part of Nova Scotia).
A large number of the Acadians were deported by the English from 1755 to 1760. To escape deportation, many fled to Québec or to what is now New Brunswick. Many came to Prince Edward Island causing the population to rise near 5,000. The Island was essentially a refugee camp. In 1759, the Cape Breton and Prince Edward Island areas fell to Britain and the settlers were deported to France. In 1763 France ceded most of its maritime lands to England and the area became known as Nova Scotia.
In 1769, a separate province, Saint John's Island (Ile St. Jean), was established. It became Prince Edward Island in 1799. In 1784, the New Brunswick area also became a separate province. About this time many Acadians who had been deported agreed to sign the oath of allegiance to England and were allowed to take up lands in the Maritime Provinces (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island). They worked primarily as farmers and fishermen. For the most part, they continued to speak French and uphold their Roman Catholic faith.
Library and Archives Canada[edit | edit source]
- Acadian Genealogy Resources Library and Archives Canada.
- Finding Aid for Acadia Records
- How to access Library and Archives Canada records
Reference Sources[edit | edit source]
- Acadian Place Names
- Acadian Place Names
- The True Acadian Period: 1604-1755 Census Records, Church Records, Notarial Records, Compiled Works, Surnames
- Acadian Church Records on Microfilm
Research Sources[edit | edit source]
Because of this great dispersion, the Acadian records are complete only for the early years of settlement. There are some good church registers from the late 1600s to 1755. The most important remaining sources for Acadian research are:
Parish Registers. Most of the remaining registers are housed in the Centre d'archives de la Capitale in Sainte-Foy and in Le Centre d'études acadiennes (Center for Acadian Studies) in Moncton, New Brunswick.
Census Records. See Prince Edward Island Census for information about Canadian censuses.
Land Grants. These can be found at the Archives des Colonies in Paris, France, as well as on microfilm at the National Archives of Canada.
Notarial Records. Most of these records have been lost or destroyed as a result of the exile of the Acadians from Canada. There are, however, some records for 1687 to 1758. These are available at Le Centre d'études acadiennes (Center for Acadian Studies) and the National Archives of Canada.
Other Records. Several sources exist which are primarily Acadian records. These are lists of deported Acadians, Acadians in transit, and Acadians in the British Colonies; petitions of Acadians in Massachusetts; and allegiance lists. These may be found in periodicals published by various historical and genealogical societies. Good sources for research are:
- Placide Gaudet. Acadian Genealogy and Notes Index
- Archange Godbout. Our Ancestors In The 17th Century: Genealogical And Bio-Bibliographic Dictionary Of Canadian Families (Nos ancêstres au XVIIe Siècle : Dictionnaire généalogique et bio-bibliographique des familles Canadiennes).
- Bona Arsenault. History of the Acadians
Organizations[edit | edit source]
- Le Centre d'études acadiennes (Center for Acadian Studies) in Moncton, New Brunswick.
- Acadian GenWeb
- Acadian Museum Research Center, Prince Edward Island