Preston Plucknett, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Preston Plucknett, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston Plucknett, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1741; For more records see Yeovil
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Archives and Local Studies

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PRESTON, a parish, in the union of Yeovil, hundred of Stone, W. division of Somerset, 1½ mile (W.) from Yeovil.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Preston Plucknett, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
PRESTON PLUCKNETT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1740-1900
1742-1902
1742-1902
NBI

1764-1957

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/PrestonPlucknett/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed and adapted: 03 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.