To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Precinct of St Katherine by Tower, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Precinct of St Katherine by Tower
Precinct of St Katherine by Tower

Guide to Precinct of St Katherine by Tower, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

The Precinct of St Katherine's-by-the-Tower incorporates most of the Tower of London, The Royal Hospital, its chapel (by that name), grounds and associated buildings.

The Tower of London was a clandestine place of marriage in early modern London.[1]

Nichols' history of St Katherine near the Tower of London (published 1824) is available online.[2]

The creation of St Katherine's Dock in 1825 drastically decreased the population of this area.[3]

Lea's history of St Katherine near the Tower (published 1878) is available online.[4]

WHITECHAPEL, is a parish and a district in Middlesex. The district contains also East Smithfield liberties, and Tower-of-London, Old-Tower-Without, and St. Katharine-by-the-Tower precincts.[5]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Katherine by Tower parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[6][7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[12]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St Katherine by Tower Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1399-1854
ANC 1 1584-1812 1584-1812 1584-1812 1584-1812 1584-1812 1584-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1813-1825 1813-1825 1813-1825 1813-1825
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN

1687-1725


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1584-1778, 1680-1769, 1770-1873
1584-1725, 1725-1753


FS Catalog PRs
1584-1964
1584-1964
1584-1964

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1620 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Ossulston Hundred, Tower Division: The Tower Hamlets and Whitechapel (The National Archives, Ref: E179/142/254); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

All Hallows Barking.png
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, Precinct of St Katherine by Tower, Middlesex Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Royal Peculiar Court of St Katherine's by the Tower. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[14]

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for St Katherine by the Tower Manor (1779-1824). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Else Churchill, "Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere." Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  2. J.B. Nichols, Account of the Royal Hospital and Collegiate Church of Saint Katharine, Near the Tower of London (London: John Nichols and Son, 1824). Digitized by Google Books.
  3. Cliff Webb, My Ancestors were Londoners: A Guide to London Sources for Family Historians (London: Society of Genealogists, 2009), 18.
  4. Frederic Simcox Lea, The Royal Hospital and Collegiate Church of Saint Katherine near the Tower in Its Relation to the East of London (London: Longmans, Green, and Co., 1878). Digitized by Google Books.
  5. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 5 November 2013.
  6. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.