To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Præstø County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Praesto.png


Guide to Præstø ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History[edit | edit source]

Præstø County (Danish: Præstø Amt) is a former province in Denmark, located on the southern part of Zealand. It was established in 1750 as a merger between Tryggevælde County and Vordingborg County. Møn County was added in 1803. It was abolished in 1970, merging with Maribo County to form Storstrøm County. You can find more information at the Wikipedia article Præstø County.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Many records from places in Præstø County are held by the Danish State Archives in Copenhagen. Records are also available from the State Archives' website ArkivalierOnline.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Bjæverskov Herred
  • Bårse Herred
  • Fakse Herred
  • Hammer Herred
  • Mønbo Herred
  • Stevns Herred
  • Tybjerg Herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Parishes[edit | edit source]

NæsbyTyvelseVrangstrupSandbyGlumsøBavelseSkelbyRislevFensmarkHerlufmagleTybjergAversiBjæverskovGørslevVollerslevLidemarkHerfølgeSædderValløbyVråbyEndeslevHimlingøjeTårnbyHårlevStrøbyMagleby StevnsVarpelevHoltugStore Heddinge CityHøjerupHellestedFrøslevLille HeddingeHavnelevSmerupLyderslevTurebyKariseSønder DalbyØster EgedeUlseKongstedFaxeAlslevSpjellerupVemmetofteHylleholtRoholteVester EgedeHolme OlstrupToksværdNæstved Skt. PedersRønnebækNæstelsøVejløMogenstrupVester EgesborgHammerEverdrupSnesereBårseKøngLundbySværdborgKastrupUdbyBeldringePræstø CitySkibbingeJungshovedAllerslevØrslevØster EgesborgMernVordingborg CityKalvehaveNyordStege CityStege landsognStege landsognBogøFanefjordDamsholteKeldbyElmelundeBorreMaglebyPraesto Map.jpg

Map of parishes

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Estates[edit | edit source]

  • Beldringe gods
  • Bredeshave gods
  • Bregentved gods
  • Bækkeskov gods
  • Dalby sognekalds mensalgods
  • Engelholm gods
  • Flinterupgård gods
  • Frederiksholm Grevskab
  • Frenderup by og gods
  • Gavnø gods
  • Gavnø gods Regimentsskriver
  • Gisselfeld kloster gods
  • Gjorslev gods
  • Grevensvænge gods
  • Hårlev sognekalds mensalgods
  • Herlufsholm sognekalds mensalgods
  • Holmegård gods
  • Holmegård gods Regimentsskriver
  • Hovedskov by gods
  • Højstrup gods
  • Høvdingsgård gods
  • Iselingen gods
  • Iselingen gods Regimentsskriver
  • Jomfruens Egede gods
  • Juellinge gods
  • Juellund gods
  • Jungshoved gods
  • Jungshoved gods Regimentsskriver
  • Klintholm gods
  • Københavns Universitetets gods
  • Langebæk Mølles gods
  • Lekkende gods
  • Lellinge, Spanager, og Taagerød godser
  • Lilliendal gods
  • Lilliendal gods Regimentsskriver
  • Liselund gods
  • Lundbygaard gods
  • Lundbygård gods Regimentsskriver
  • Lystrup gods
  • Marienberg og Snertingegård godser
  • Marienborg gods
  • Marienlyst gods
  • Nordfelt gods
  • Næsbyholm gods
  • Oremandsgaard gods
  • Pebringgård gods
  • Petersgård gods
  • Ravnstrup gods
  • Rosendal gods
  • Rosenfeld gods
  • Rosenfeld gods Regimentsskriver
  • Rosenfelt gods
  • Rønnebæksholm gods
  • Sandbygaard gods
  • Skelby sognekalds mensalgods
  • Sparresholm gods
  • Sværdborg sognekalds gods
  • Tryggevælde gods
  • Tybjærggaard gods
  • Vallø gods
  • Vallø og Lellingegård gods len Rentekammeret
  • Vallø stifts gods
  • Vemmetofte gods
  • Vemmetofte klosters gods
  • Vemmetofte-Højstrup gods Regimentsskriver
  • Vordingborg Amtstuedistrikts gods
  • Vordingborg Slot gods
  • Ålebækgård gods