Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset|
|Hundred||Eggerton; Poorstock Liberty|
|Poor Law Union||Beaminster|
|Parish registers: 1568; Separate registers exist for West Milton beginning 1837|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1732|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset|
|Location of Archive|
|Dorset Record Office|
POORSTOCK, a village and a parish in Beaminster district, Dorset. The village stands on an affluent of the river Brit, near the Brid port railway, 4 miles N E of Brid port. The parish includes the tythings of West Milton, Mappercombe, Nettlescombe, South Poorton, Witherston, and part of Loscombe.
Known as Poorstock or Powerstock.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Powerstock with West Milton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Powerstock with West Milton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
West Milton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|West Milton Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Dorset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.