Posey County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Posey County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Posey County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 7, 1814
County Seat Mt. Vernon
Courthouse
Address Posey County Courthouse
PO Box 606;
Mt. Vernon, IN 47620
Phone: 812.838.1306
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1815 1882 1815 1815 1815 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for General Thomas Posey. The County Seat is Mount Vernon and was founded November 11, 1814. It is located in the South West area of the state.[4]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Historic communities


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Vanderburgh  • Gibson  • Wabash  • White  • Gallatin  • Union  • Henderson

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 4,061
1830 6,549 61.3%
1840 9,683 47.9%
1850 12,549 29.6%
1860 16,167 28.8%
1870 19,185 18.7%
1880 20,857 8.7%
1890 21,529 3.2%
1900 22,333 3.7%
1910 21,670 −3.0%
1920 19,334 −10.8%
1930 17,853 −7.7%
1940 19,183 7.4%
1950 19,818 3.3%
1960 19,214 −3.0%
1970 21,740 13.1%
1980 26,414 21.5%
1990 25,968 −1.7%
2000 27,061 4.2%
2010 25,910 −4.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Latter-day Saint Cemetery Records
US Vol. 24 page 78 - Bethlehem Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Posey County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Posey County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Circuit Court historical records of Posey County in the State Archives. This online searchable database indexes cases for the years 1815-1841.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Histories[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Leffel, John C. History of Posey County, Indiana. 1913. Internet Archive
  • Leonard, William P. History and directory of Posey County. 1986. (Kokomo, Ind: Selby Pub. & Printing.) 977.234 H2Le FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, GenGateway, Other Libraries
  • Goodspeed Publishing Co. 1974. History of Posey County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic). 977.234 H2h FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Posey County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Gibson CountyVanderburgh CountyWhite CountyGallatin CountyUnion CountyHenderson CountyIN POSEY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Posey County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Posey County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" Chapter 6 in Goodspeed Publishing Co. 1974. History of Posey County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic). (page 441-445), 977.234 H2h FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive
World War I=[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

  • African Americans in Civilian Conservation Corps, Wadesville, Posey County, Indiana (1938) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Posey County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records. Online Records


Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Posey County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Posey County Courthouse
PO Box 606
Mt. Vernon, IN 47620
Phone: 812.838.1306

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1815. County health department Dept has birth and divorce records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records from 1815 and some military discharge records. [6]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Posey County Historical Society
PO Box 171
Mt. Vernon, IN 47620
E-mail: belthi@aol.com

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Posey County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Posey County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Posey County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Posey County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posey_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Posey County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posey_County,_Indiana 3/30/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Posey County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posey_County,_Indiana, accessed 01 January 2020.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Posey County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.