To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Posen, German Empire Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Posen,
German Empire
Wiki Topics
Poland-00553 - Fountain of Proserpina (30365129645).jpg
Getting Started
Major Posen Record Types
Reading the Records
Additional Posen
Record Types
Posen Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Germany Record Types
Germany Background

Church records (parish registers, church books) are an important source for genealogical research in Germany before civil registration began. They recorded details of baptisms, marriages, deaths and burials. The vast majority of the population was mentioned. To learn more about the types of information you will find in church records, click on these links:


For a comprehensive understanding of church records, study the article Germany Church Records.

Parish Register Inventories[edit | edit source]

Church record inventories are essential tools for finding German records. They identify what records should be available for a specified parish and where to write for information on these records. They list the church records, their location, and the years they cover. Sometimes inventories explain which parishes served which towns at different periods of time.

Online Class on Locating Posen Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

  1. Watch the General Resources portion, beginning at 13:47 minutes, to learn how to check for parish registers using:
    1. The PRADZIAD Database
    2. Szukaj w ArchiwachTutorial
    3. Archion, Cooperative of protestant archives ($)
    4. Archives Portal Europe
  2. Watch the Posen portion, which begins at 36:19 minutes.

1. Church Records on the Internet[edit | edit source]

Online records for Posen are found in Archion in the Evangelical Central Archives in Berlin. Among its collections there are about 6,000 church records of Protestant church communities in the former Eastern Church provinces of Prussia. They come from the provinces of East and West Prussia, Pomerania, Posen, Silesia, Brandenburg (east of the Oder and Neisse). Some of the provinces are represented by numerous, others because of the loss of war, with only a few church books.

FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($), and MyHeritage.com ($)[edit | edit source]

Ancestry.com and MyHeritage.com can be searched free of charge at your local Family History Center.

This collection covers: Brätz, Bukowiec, Deutschdorf, Dürrlettel, Kurzig, Meseritz, Miedzyrzecz, Pieske, Prittisch, and Tirschtiegel.
These record collections cover the following parishes for Posen: Alt Höfchen, Altenhof, Bauchwitz, Betsche, Blesen, Bomst, Brätz, Brausendorf, Dürrlettel, Eibendorf, Falkenwalde, Firmungen, Goray, Groß Krebbel, Hochwalde, Kalau, Karge, Klastawe, Kleistdorf, Koschmin, Kranz, Kurzig, Kuschten, Kutschkau, Meseritz, Neudorf, Neu Kramzig,Ober Görzig, Oscht, Paradies, Parafja, Pieske, Politzig, Poppe, Prittisch, Rogsen, Rokitten, Samst, Schweinert, Schwerin Warthe, Semmritz, Tirschtiegel, Trebisch, Unruhstadt, Waitze, and Weißensee.

Other Indexing and Collection Projects[edit | edit source]

2. Digital Copies of Church Records in the FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]

Try to find records in the collection of the FamilySearch Library. Many microfilms have been digitized for online viewing. Gradually, everything will be digitized, so check back occasionally. Some have viewing restrictions, and can only be viewed at a Family History Center near you, and/or by members of supporting organizations.

a. Click on the Places within Germany, Preussen, Posen drop-down menu and select your town.
b. Click on the "Church records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
c. Choose the correct record type and time period for your ancestor. "Taufen" are baptisms/christenings. Heiraten are marriages. "Tote" are deaths.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.


3. Records in Archives[edit | edit source]

Germany[edit | edit source]

EZA Berlin (Lutheran)[edit | edit source]

Evangelical Central Archives Berlin ( EZA )
Bethaniendamm 29
10997 Berlin
Germany

Family Research: Ruf. 030 / 22504-536
E-mail:kirchenbuchstelle@ezab.de
Space reservation: Fax. 030 / 22504-540 or Email to reservierung@ezab.de

BZ Regensburg (Catholic)[edit | edit source]

Bishops' Central Archives Regensburg
St. Petersweg 11-13
93047 Regensburg Ruf.
Germany

Telephone: 0941 / 597-2520
Fax. 0941 / 597-2521
E-Mail: archiv@bistum-regensburg.de


DZfG Leipzig[edit | edit source]

German Central Office for Genealogy
Saxon State
Archives State Archives Leipzig
Schongauerstraße 1
04328 Leipzig
Germany

Email: poststelle-l@sta.smi.sachsen.de
Telephone: 0341 / 255-5500

Poland[edit | edit source]

State Archive in Poznań
60-967 Poznan
Poland

tel. (61) 852-46-01
Fax (61) 851-73-10
E-mail: archiwum@poznan.ap.gov.pl

Writing a Letter to a Local Church or Archives[edit | edit source]

Catholic[edit | edit source]

Protestant[edit | edit source]

In Poland approximately 134 protestant parishes exist. Some records formerly found in such parishes may now be archived in local Catholic parishes. For a list of the Protestant parishes in Poland, and their addresses, you can visit the Lutheran Church in Poland for a listing of Lutheran parishes which are in existence today.

Addressing the Letter[edit | edit source]

Using these addresses as guides, replacing the information in parentheses. If you do not know the street address of a church, you can omit it.
For State Archive
Urząd Stanu Cywilnego
(street name and number)
(postal code) (name of locality)
POLAND

For a Roman Catholic Parish
Parafia Rzymsko-Katolicka
(street name and number)
(postal code) (name of locality)
POLAND

For a Protestant Parish
Parafia Ewangelicka
(street name and number)
(postal code) (name of locality)
POLAND

For an Orthodox Parish
Parafia Prawoslawna
(street name and number)
(postal code) (name of locality)
POLAND

Letter Writing Guides[edit | edit source]

How to write a letter: Detailed instruction for what to include in the letter, plus Polish translations of the questions and sentences most frequently used are in the Poland Letter Writing Guide.
In some cases, the records are held in archives in Germany. For letters in German, including addressing the letter, plus German translations of the questions and sentences most frequently needed, use the the German Letter Writing Guide.
Because part of Posen is now in Russia, this article may help: Russian Letter Writing Guide

Other Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

To learn how to determine the location of other religious records, namely Jewish, French Reformed, German Reformed, etc., watch Hansen’s Map Guides: Finding Records with Parish Maps beginning at 48:00 minutes, to learn how to locate these congregations. Then go back and watch from the beginning to understand how to use the reference book. Also, you can read Map Guide to German Parish Registers. This video and handout teach you how to use a set of reference books found at the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. If you are not in Salt Lake City, use the Contact Us feature to request information from the books.

5. Compiled and Published Secondary Sources[edit | edit source]

Caution sign.png

Compiled genealogies and published genealogies are secondary sources, not original or primary sources.

As such, they are subject to human error through translation or transcription errors, mistaken interpretations, and opinion decisions of another researcher.

You should make every effort to base your research on the actual, original records or their digitized images.

Town Genealogies (Ortssippenbuch or Ortsfamilienbuch )[edit | edit source]

See the class, Online Ortsfamilienbücher at Genealogy.net, and Wiki article, Germany Town Genealogies and Parish Register Inventories on the Internet. Published town genealogies, Ortssippenbuch (town lineage book) or Ortsfamilienbuch (town family book), generally include birth, marriage, and death data for all persons found in the local records during a specified time period, compiled into families based on the opinion of the author. If one is available, it should only be used as an index or guide to finding the original records. They usually contain errors. Always verify their information in original records.

Reading the Records[edit | edit source]

German Records[edit | edit source]

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French and German to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read German records.
German Genealogical Word List
French Genealogical Word List
Latin Genealogical Word List
  • These video webinars will teach you to read German handwriting:

Downloadable Handouts[edit | edit source]

Latin Records[edit | edit source]

Records of the Catholic church will usually be written in Latin:

Feast Dates[edit | edit source]

Search Strategy[edit | edit source]

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find their birth record, search for the births of their brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of their parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Calculate the birth date of the parents, using age at death and/or marriage to search for their birth records.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.