To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Portville, Cattaraugus County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Portville, Cattaraugus ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Portville Free Library
2 North Main Street
PO Box 768
Portville, NY 14770-0482
Phone: 716-933-8441
Fax: 716-933-7020
E-mail: portlibr@roadrunner.com

Societies[edit | edit source]

The Portville Historical & Preservation Society
P.O. Box 59
Portville, New York 14770

Genealogical Resources:

Cattaraugus County Historical Museum and Research Library
9824 Route 16
P.O. Box 352
Machias, NY 14101
Phone: (716) 353-8200

Genealogical Resources: Family genealogies, vital records, obituary and cemetery records, maps, local history information.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Portville, Clerk
Municipal Building
1102 Olean-Portville Road
Portville, NY 14770
Phone: 716-933-6658
Fax: (716) 933-7877
Email: town-clerk@portville-ny.com

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Historian (Vacant)

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Portville, Cattaraugus County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]