Portsea St Mary, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Hampshire
Hampshire Parishes
Portsea St Mary

Guide to Portsea St Mary, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

PORTSEA, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Hampshire, with several smaller churches attached to the ancient parish of St Mary's. These other small chapelries/churches (of the Church of England) comprised ten divisions within St Mary's boundaries; they included:
Portsea St. Mary
Portsea St. George
Portsea St. John
Portsea Holy Trinity
Southsea St. Paul
Southsea St. Jude (see also St Simon)
Land port St. Luke
Land port-All Saints
Milton St. James Havelock-Park St. Bartholomew
Portsea St. Simon

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Portsea St Mary, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1]
FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
PORTSEA ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1653-1917
1654-1917
1653-1913
FS 1666-1873
1666-1875

PRTS 1780-1790
1780-1790
1780-1786


Wall, Rita M.  Notes on the Ancestry of John Pounds.  Information, history, birth, baptism, and death names and dates of Pounds, and Martill or Martell in St. Mary's Church Register to be found in the Portsmouth City Record Office, article starts in year 1765. Article is in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 2, no. 1. page 17, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h vol. 2 & 3.

Baptisms of the Children of H.M. Forces - St Mary's Portsea, 1841-1843 including St Paul's Chapel. Article lists the date, childs name, parents names and abode and father's occupation. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV,no.2. Aug. 1988, page 146. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy

A Soldier's Bride by Cockaday, P.  This is a story of Caroline Jane Amelia Somerville, baptised at St. Mary's Portsea in 1832, who married John Cockaday August 1852.  Gives history of the family, and includes photos of them both, and a drawing of the  Portsmouth Cathedral in Old Portsmouth.  Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV, no.2, August 1988, pages 92-93, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Fletcher, John S.  A Portsea Connection.  History and family tree of John Fletcher 1809-1895 and Sarah Ansell 1805-1848.  The Fletchers of Sheerness Kent, and South London and their maritime link with Porsea.  Photo of John George Fletcher 1857-1949 and Mary Ann Margaret Pritchard 1857-1945.  Photo of Arthur Henry Jennings Read (1860-1930) and some of the family named outside his shop at 94 Essex Road, Islington about 1914.  Article covers 1805-1976. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 15 no. 4, February 1989, pages 256-260, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.