Portsea Holy Trinity, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Hampshire
Hampshire Parishes
Portsea Holy Trinity

Guide to Portsea Holy Trinity, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

PORTSEA (Holy Trinity). Trinity church, the first stone was laid in June, 1839. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents (the principal of which, in King-street, is one of the largest and handsomest meeting-houses in the kingdom), Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics; and a synagogue.[1]

PORTSEA, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Hampshire, with several smaller churches attached to the ancient parish of St Mary's. These other small chapelries/churches (of the Church of England) comprised ten divisions within St Mary's boundaries; they included:
Portsea St. Mary
Portsea St. George
Portsea St. John
Portsea Holy Trinity
Southsea St. Paul
Southsea St. Jude (see also St Simon)
Land port St. Luke
Land port-All Saints
Milton St. James Havelock-Park St. Bartholomew
Portsea St. Simon

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
PORTSEA HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1841-1906
1845-1905

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.