Portland St John, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Portland St John

Guide to Portland St John, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Portland St John, Dorset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Portland Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

PORTLAND (St. George), a parish, constituting the liberty of the Isle of Portland, in the union of Weymouth, Dorchester division of Dorset, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Weymouth. A second church was built in 1840 at Fortune's Well, it is dedicated to St. John. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Portland St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-2001 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Dorset Online Parish Clerks - free
ANC = Dorset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Dorset Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1936 (MyHeritage) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Portland St John the Baptist Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2001
1538-2001
1538-2001
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1847-1880


1847-1880
ANC 1840-1906
1841-1921
1841-1991
FMP 1872-1872
1841-1937
1841-1991
MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Also see Portland for more church records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 09 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk