Portland, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Portland

Guide to Portland, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Portland, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Portland Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

Portland, Isle of, peninsula, in S. of Dorset, 4 mile S. of Weymouth and 50 miles SW. of Southampton by rail. Portland is 4½ miles long by 1½ mile broad, is connected with the mainland by a long narrow ridge of shingle called the Chesil Bank.[1]

PORTLAND (St. George), a parish, constituting the liberty of the Isle of Portland, in the union of Weymouth, Dorchester division of Dorset, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Weymouth. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Portland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-2001 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
OPC = Dorset Online Parish Clerks - free
ANC 1 = Dorset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Dorset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Dorset Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1936 (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Dorset Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Portland Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2001
1538-2001
1538-2001
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1906
1813-1921
1813-1954
FMP 1631-1837
1591-1924
1564-1825
MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
TGEN



1564-1897
JOIN

1813-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Portland St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Portland St Andrew Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1630-1756
1591-1619, 1690-1757
1564-1579, 1670-1766
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Portland St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Portland St George Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1766-1841
1766-1839
1766-1849
OPC 1731-1880
1813-1852
1731-1880
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Portland Tabernacle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Portland Tabernacle Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1756-1766
1757-1766


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Portland St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Portland St John the Baptist Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OPC 1847-1880


1847-1880
ANC 2 1840-1906
1841-1921
1841-1991
FMP 1872-1872
1841-1937
1841-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Portland St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Portland St Peter Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OPC 1872-1880




ANC 2 1870-1906
1904-1921


FMP 1870-1912
1927-1937


MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), p. 445.
  3. Searching Parish Records online (Dorset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk