Porsgrunn Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Porsgrunn, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Porsgrunn Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld N/A
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag N/A
Fogderi Nedre Telemarken
Sorenskriveri Gjerpen
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Porsgrunn clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Østre Porsgrunn (East Porsgrunn) and Vestre Porsgrunn (West Porsgrunn). Vestre Porsgrunn was separated from Solum clerical district and Østre Porsgrunn from Eidanger clerical district in 1763. For earlier records see the above mentioned clerical districts.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Eidanger clerical district, including Brevik, and Siljan (Slemdal) parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census Sogneprestenes manntall. It covers Eidanger clerical district, including Brevik, and Siljan (Slemdal) parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1725 Sjeleregister: A 1725 sjeleregister for Eidanger clerical district exists and includes Eidanger, Porsgrunn, and Brevik. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.


  • 1729 Sjeleregister: A 1729 sjeleregister for Porsgrunn clerical district includes Porsgrun, Solum, and Eidanger. The east side of Porsgrunn used to belong to Eidanger, and the west side of Porsgrunn to Solum until 1763 when Porsgrunn became its own clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.


  • 1782: A special 1782 census for Porsgrunn exists and used to be available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives), but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it, a link will be provided here.



  • 1815: A special The 1815 census for Porsgrunn City exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1825: A special 1825 census for Porsgrunn City exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1835: A special 1835 census for Porsgrunn City exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).




  • 1885: A special 1885 census for Porsgrunn City is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Porsgrunn City is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1910: The 1910 census for Porsgrunn City is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Bamble judicial district
*1665-1869 Family History Library
*1665-1852 Digitalarkivet

Skien city district
*1693-1880 Family History Library
*1693-1880 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

Østre Porsgrunn was separated from Bamble Judicial district and added to Skien and Porsgrunn in 1807.