Pope County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pope County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Pope County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Pope County
Location in the state of Minnesota, United States Genealogy
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1862
County Seat Glenwood
Courthouse
Address Pope County Courthouse
130 Minnesota Ave E
Glenwood, MN 56334
Phone: 320.634.5723
Pope County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John Pope, a General in the Union Army who had earlier worked as a surveyor in the area. The County is located in the west central area of the state. [1]

Pope County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1870 1870 1880 1866 1867 1836
Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clerk District Court has birth, marriage and death records from 1870,
divorce and court records from 1880 and probate records from 1867. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1862--Pope County was created 20 February 1862 from Pierce (Eliminated 20 Feb 1862) and Cass Counties and unorganized territory.

County seat: Glenwood [4]

  • For a brief history on Pope County's name, click here, then select Pope County.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MNGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives FamilySearch Places
Tombstone Project
MNInterment
MNGravestones
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1870 2,691
1880 5,874 118.3%
1890 10,032 70.8%
1900 12,577 25.4%
1910 12,746 1.3%
1920 13,631 6.9%
1930 13,085 −4.0%
1940 13,544 3.5%
1950 12,862 −5.0%
1960 11,914 −7.4%
1970 11,107 −6.8%
1980 11,657 5.0%
1990 10,745 −7.8%
2000 11,236 4.6%
2010 10,995 −2.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Scandia Evangelical Lutheran Church, Cyrus

  • Records of Scandia Evangelical Lutheran Church, Cyrus, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

Trinity Lutheran Church, Brooten

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Brooten, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

West Lake Johanna Lutheran Church, Brooten

  • Records of West Lake Johanna Lutheran Church, Brooten, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Pope – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Pope County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

  • The Starbuck Study Club and Centennial History Book Committee. Starbuck, 1883-1983. 1983. Print.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Douglas CountyTodd CountyGrant CountyStevens CountySwift CountyKandiyohi CountyStearns CountyMN POPE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pope County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Pope County Historical Society
809 S Lake Shore Dr
Glenwood MN 56334-9406
Telephone: 320-634-3293
Website

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Pope County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pope_County,_Minnesota accessed 14 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pope County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pope County, Minnesota page 367, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Pope County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pope_County,_Minnesota, accessed 17 February 2020.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.