Pope County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Pope County
 

Guide to Pope County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Russellville
Organized: November 2, 1829
Parent County(s): Crawford
Neighboring Counties
Conway  • Johnson  • Logan  • Newton  • Searcy  • Van Buren  • Yell
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasPopeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-pope.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for John Pope, the third governor of the Arkansas Territory. The County Seat is Russellville and was founded November 2, 1829.[1] It is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Pope County Courthouse
100 W Main Street
Russellville, AR 72801
Phone: 501.968.6064
Pope County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1831, county court records from 1857, voter and divorce records from 1965;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, land and military and court records. [3]

Pope County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1831 1965 1857 1828 1831 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1829--Pope County was created 2 November 1829 from Crawford County. 
  • County seat: Russellville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Pope County, Arkansas:

  • Appleton
  • Atkins
  • Boiling Springs
  • Caglesville
  • Diamond
  • Dover
  • Freeman Springs
  • Gabriel Glass Village
  • Granny's Gap
  • Gravel Hill
  • Gunter Mountain
  • Hector
  • Leta
  • Lost Corner
  • London
  • Moccasin Gap
  • Moreland Point
  • Remove Creek
  • Pottsville
  • Pisgah
  • Rock Springs
  • Russellville
  • Scottsvile
  • Treat
  • Walnut Grove

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Pope County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [6]

  • 1829-1830 -- A temporary county seat was established at the home of John Balinger on the Arkansas River.
  • 1830 -- The county seat was established at old Norristown.  No county buildings were built there.
  • 1840 -- The first Courthouse was built in Dover.  It was built of logs and lasted until it was burned with no loss of records during the Civil War. 
  • 1840 -- After the log Courthouse burned, court was held in churches until a brick Courthouse was constructed on the Dover town square.
  • 1888, May 16 -- The county seat was moved to Russellville, and Russellville's first couthouse was built in 1888.  The present Pope County Courthouse was built in 1931.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Pope, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 1,483
1840 2,850 92.2%
1850 4,710 65.3%
1860 7,883 67.4%
1870 8,386 6.4%
1880 14,322 70.8%
1890 19,458 35.9%
1900 21,715 11.6%
1910 24,527 12.9%
1920 27,153 10.7%
1930 26,547 −2.2%
1940 25,682 −3.3%
1950 23,291 −9.3%
1960 21,177 −9.1%
1970 28,607 35.1%
1980 29,021 1.4%
1990 45,883 58.1%
2000 54,469 18.7%
2010 61,754 13.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1830-1978 County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Executor bonds and letters 1870-1926; Guardian bonds and letters 1857-1882; Probate record index 1860-1900; Probate records 1844-1892; Will index 1830-1978.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Pope County Historical Association. History Book Committee. History of Pope County, Arkansas. Winston-Salem, North Carolina : Jostens, c1981-1999.
  • Lemley, J. B..Pope County historical articles. Russellville, Arkansas : J.B. Lemley, 198-?.

Maps and Gazetteers

Newton CountySearcy CountyJohnson CountyLogan CountyYell CountyConway CountyVan Buren CountyAR POPE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Pope County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Stirman's) (Confederate), Companies F and G
- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), 1st Company E
- 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E [7]
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[8], Companies A, B, D, H, I, and L

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pope County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

River Valley Genealogy Society Researchers interested in CONWAY, FAULKNER, PERRY, POPE, YELL AND VAN BUREN COUNTIES.
Farm Bureau Building
201 E. Shady Lane
Morrilton, Arkansas

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Pope County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/pope/
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Pope County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pope_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pope County, Arkansas. Page 70 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Caty Henderson, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=801&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Pope County.”
  7. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1996), p. 12 FHL book 976.7 M2ba
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  9. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.