Pontefract All Saints, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Pontefract All Saints, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Pontefract All Saints, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Pontefract|
|Parish registers: 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1842|
|Rural Deanery||New Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
PONTEFRACT (St. Giles), a borough, market town, and parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York.The old parochial church, dedicated to All Saints, now a district church, was nearly demolished in the parliamentary war. 
Pontefract All Saints is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1838 from Pontefract Ancient Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Pontefract All Saints, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|PONTEFRACT ALL SAINTS ECCLESTISIAL PARISH (1***) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Pontefract All Saints to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Pontefract All Saints page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.