Pocahontas County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Pocahontas County

Guide to Pocahontas County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Marlinton
Organized: December 21, 1821
Parent County(s): Pendleton, Greenbrier, Randolph, Bath (VA)[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bath (VA)  • Greenbrier  • Highland (VA)  • Pendleton  • Randolph  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Pocahontas County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-pocahontas.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Pocahontas County Courthouse
900 10th Ave
Marlinton, WV 24954
Phone: 304-799-4549
Pocahontas County Website

County Clerk has birth records from 1853; death records from 1854; marriage, probate, and land records from 1822.
Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and county records.[2]

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1822 1822 1822 1830

Record Loss

1901-04 Death records for these years are missing.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Pocahontas County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Pocahontas census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pocahontas County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

  • Historical Sketches of Pocahontas County, West Virginia
  • Preserving Pocahontas WV Historic Preservation Project
  • Pocahontas County Today
  • Pocahontas County Yesterday
  • Historical Background Research
  • Blackhurst, Warren E. Natural History of the Cass Scenic Railroad. Morgantown, West Virginia, West Virginia University Library, 1976. 500.9754 B628.
  • Clarkson, Roy B. On Beyond Leatherbark: The Cass Saga. Parsons, West Virginia, McClain Printing Company, 1990. 975.487 C613.
  • Comstock, Jim. Hardesty's Historical and Genealogical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973. 975.4003 H259 1973 v.3.
  • Edgar, Betsy. Our House: The Birthplace of Pearl S. Buck. Parsons, West Virginia, McClain Printing Company, 1965. B B922e.
  • Harper, Enid. History of Knapp's Creek Community Consisting of the The Hills, Forst, Knapp's Creek and Minnehaha Neighborhoods, Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1924 (On-line version). Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: H3.
  • Mill Point, West Virginia, Marvin Chapel Church History Committee. A History of Marvel Chapel and Community Mill Point, West Virginia, 1953-54. s. l., Committee, 1954. 287.6754 M645.
  • Ott, Edwin. The Mountains Speak in Picture and Story. Fairlea, West Virginia, Farilea Print Shop, 1969. 917.5488 O89.
  • Pocahontas County Historical Society. Gleanings of Pocahontas County Historical Society. Marlinton, West Virginia, Society, 1980-.
  • History of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, 1981. Dallas, Texas, Taylor Publishing Company, 1981. 975.487 P739.
  • Price, Andrew. Selim, the Algerine:Adventures of a Prisoner of Spain, France and Shawnees, Rescued in Pocahontas County in 1759. Marlinton, West Virginia, times Book Company, 1924. B S464p
  • Pam. Price, William Thomas. Historical Sketches of Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Marlinton, West Virginia, Price Brothers, 1901. 975. 487 P946.
  • Wilson, Mrs. Stanley. History of Minnehaha Springs Community, Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1928 (On-line versio n). Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: W5.
Pocahontas County

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Pocahontas County on page 135.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pocahontas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pocahontas County:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company D (Pocahontas Rescues).[4]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company F (The Bath Grays).[5]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.[6]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Pocahontas Cavalry) and Company I.[7]
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Pocahontas Riflemen).[8]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Pocahontas County.

  • Map showing Civil War battles in West Virginia.

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

The Pocahontas Times

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pocahontas County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):210-212. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  5. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  6. Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
  7. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  8. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Pocahontas_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3166258"