Plympton St Maurice
Guide to Plympton St Maurice, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Plympton St Maurice|
|Poor Law Union||Plympton St Mary|
|Registration District||Plympton St Mary|
|Parish registers: 1616|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PLYMPTON, EARL'S (St. Maurice), an incorporated market-town, and a parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, locally in the hundred of Plympton, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of Devon, 39 miles (S. W.) from Exeter. The church, was originally a chantry chapel appendant to Plympton St. Mary, it was founded by John Brackley, in 1547. There is a place of worship for Independent Calvinists. 
"PLYMPTON MAURICE, or PLYMPTON EARL, is an ancient disfranchised borough, and a small stannary and market town, pleasantly situated in a fertile vale, about 5 miles E. by N. of Plymouth, and 2 miles E. of the river Plym. The town consists of four small streets, with a few respectable houses in the suburbs. The Parish Church (St. Maurice,) is . . . a small neat fabric, standing near the castle mound. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Plympton St Maurice parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Plympton St Maurice Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Transcriptions of some of the census records for Plympton St. Mary parish in Devon can be found at http://genuki.cs.ncl.ac.uk/DEV/PlymptonStMaurice/index.html#Census
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Plympton St Maurice on GENUKI
Information about Plympton St. Maurice (Plympton Earle) and past residents can be found on the Online Parish Clerk webpages at http://cornwood-opc.com/psmaurice