To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Plymouth Holy Trinity, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Plymouth Holy Trinity

Guide to Plymouth Holy Trinity, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plymouth Holy Trinity, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth Incorporation
Registration District Plymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PLYMOUTH, a sea-port, borough, and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Rororough, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 44 miles (S. W.) from Exeter, and 215 (W. S. W.) from London; containing, exclusively of the out-parts of the parishes of St. Andrew and Charles the Martyr. Trinity church, in the early English style, of which the foundation stone was laid in May, 1840, was completed in August 1842 out of St. Andrew's. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Plymouth Holy Trinity, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Plymouth Holy Trinity, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

Undefined


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Plymouth, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Moravian/United Brethren

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Plymouth Holy Trinity (see Plymouth St Andrew) on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed and adapted: 30 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.