Plymouth County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Plymouth County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Plymouth County, Iowa|
Location in the state of Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
|Founded||January 15, 1851|
|County Seat||Le Mars|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 References
The County was named for Plymouth, Massachusetts. The County has Le Mars as its seat and the County was created 1851. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. 
Plymouth County, Iowa Record Dates
1851--Plymouth County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Woodbury County prior to organization 27 October 1858. County seat: Le Mars 
For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1895 - Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1915 - Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1925 - Iowa State Census. 1925 at FamilySearch — index and images
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Plymouth County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
St. John's Lutheran Church, Craig
- Records of the St. John's Lutheran Church, Craig, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Sioux City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Sioux City, Iowa Directories, 1889-90, 1892-93 at Ancestry.com ($)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Plymouth County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.
- Woodbury and Plymouth Counties, Iowa History at Ancestry.com ($)
- The British in Iowa. By Jacob Van der Zee. Iowa City, Iowa : State Historical Society of Iowa, 1922. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Plymouth County, Iowa, her people, industries and institutions : with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. By W. S. Freeman. Online at: Vol.1 FamilySearch Books Online, Vol. 2 FamilySearch Books Online, Vol. 1 and 2 HathiTrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of the counties of Woodbury and Plymouth, Iowa : includes an extended sketch of Sioux City, their early settlement and progress to the present time; a description of their historic and interesting localities; sketches of the prominent men, and biographies of many of the representative citizens. By Will Leach Clark, J. E. Norris. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Internet Archive, HathiTrust.
- 1835-1998 - Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1949 - Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1862-1910 - Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — index
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Plymouth County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Akron Hometowner - digitized issues in Google News Archive; includes 2006-2009
- Le Mars Globe Post. 1953-54, 1956-57, and 1959. Le Mars, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Le Mars Daily Sentinel. 1963 and 1972. Le Mars, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Lemars Semi Weekly Sentinel. 1951-52. Le Mars, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Le Mars Sentinel. 1953-54 and 1957. Le Mars, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Barometern. 1884-86. Sioux City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- The Sioux City Sunday Journal. 1964. Sioux City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
- Le Mars Daily News Sentinel. 1958, 1969, and 1977. Le Mars, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
Online Probate Records
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Plymouth - Probate records.
Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.
- 1850-1939 - Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1921-1942 - Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1518-1996 - Iowa, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850-1990 - Iowa, Deaths and Burials 1850-1990 at FamilySearch
- 1880-1992 - Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — index
- 1904-1951 - Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Sioux City Iowa Family History Center 1201 W Clifton Ave, Sioux City, IA 51104 United States Location Map
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|State Historical Society of Iowa||Free||Select from research collection topics|
|The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection||Free||digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "plymouth county" in the search box|
|State Library of Iowa||Free||electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "plymouth county" in the search box|
|IAGenWeb||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|genealogytrails.com||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|  FamilySearch||Free||Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes|
|RootsWeb Resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|Plymouth County IA at LDS Genealogy||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS.com||Free||family history resources and government records|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch Catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.|
|GeneaBloggers||enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs|
|Google+||list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search|
|list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search|
|genealogy.com||Plymouth County, IA Genealogy Forum|
|ancestry.com||Plymouth County Message Board|
- Wikipedia contributors, "Plymouth, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plymouth_County,_Iowa."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Plymouth County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).