Plymouth Christ Church, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Plymouth Christ Church, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Plymouth Christ Church, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Plymouth Incorporation|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PLYMOUTH CHRIST CHURCH is part of PLYMOUTH
PLYMOUTH, is a sea-port, borough, and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Rororough, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 44 miles (S. W.) from Exeter; one of its many parishes is Christ Church. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends,Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, Presbyterians, and Unitarians; and a synagogue. 
The Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales provides a slightly different entry for Holy Trinity.
Plymouth is one parish that comprehended all the town till 1640; and it was then divided into two, called St. Andrew and Charles-the-Martyr. St. Andrew's parish comprises a section of the borough, and the chapelry of Pennycross or Weston-Peverell; and, in the borough section, it is ecclesiastically cut into the divisions of St. Andrew, Christchurch, Holy Trinity, St. James, and St. Peter.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Plymouth Christ Church, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Plymouth Christ Church, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Plymouth, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Moravian/United Brethren
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Plymouth Christ Church (see Plymouth St Andrew) on GENUKI