Plumpton Wall, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Plumpton Wall, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Plumpton Wall, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Penrith|
|Parish registers: 1828|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1828|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
PLUMPTON-WALL, a township and a chapelry, in the parish of Lazonby, union of Penrith, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 4 miles (N. by W.) from Penrith.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Plumpton-Wall, 1828-1963
Bishop's transcripts for Plumpton-Wall, 1828-1871
Presbyterian - Rowcliffe Lane Church records, 1751-1877
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Plumpton Wall on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.