Plemstall, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Plemstall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Peter's Church, Plemstall
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1586|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PLEMONSTALL, or Plemstall, is a parish in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; on the River Gowy, adjacent to the Cheshire and Manchester railway,it is 4 miles NE of Chester. It comprises the townships of Hoole, Mickle-Trafford, Bridge-Trafford and Pickton; and its post town is Chester. The church stands in Mickle-Trafford; and is of the 14th century, with a tower of 1826. A section of Plemstall, is included in the chapelry of Christchurch, Chester.
Plemstall, St. Peter is an Ancient parish which includes: Pickton, Mickle Trafford, Hoole, Bridge Trafford, and Pickton.
Mickle Trafford was a township in the parish of Plemstall.
The original church was built in the 12th century but the present building dates mostly from the 15th century. Inscriptions in the church show that there were restorations in 1684, 1711, 1802–03 and 1819.
St Peter's Church, Plemstall stands in an isolated position at the end of a country lane near the village of Mickle Trafford, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with that of St John the Baptist's Church, Guilden Sutton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Plemstall St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Plemstall St Peter Parish (1557) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Registers of Baptisms 1558–1909, Marriages 1558–1949 and Burials 1558–1917 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference P 97 Registers: Christenings 1558-1909, Marriages 1558-1949, Burials 1558-1917. Records other than registers 1683-1956 Their website is here.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Mickle Trafford, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1885.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–74)
- Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–71)
- Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire
- Chester Poor Law Union (1871–1930)
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Plemstall (see Mickle Trafford) on GENUKI
Plemstall St Peter on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 April 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
- Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 62–63, ISBN 1871731232
- Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 273–278
- Latham, Frank A. (ed.) (2005), Mickle Trafford, The Local History Group, p. 48–57, ISBN 0 9551470 1 8