Pleasley, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Repton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield|
|Parish registers: 1553|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1665|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Pleasley, St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire in the union of Mansfield. Other places in the parish include: containing, with the chapelry of ease at Shirebrook and the hamlet of Stoney-Houghton. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
Pleasley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Pleasley St Michael (1553) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's||1553-1881|| NONE
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1665-1868 Mar 1665-1837 Burials 1665-1868 Missing Bap & Bur 1842-1843, 1845-1856
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Pleasley on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 576-578.Date accessed: 24 May 2013.