Platt, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Platt

Guide to Platt, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Platt, Kent
Platt St Mary Kent.jpg
Platt St Mary Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrotham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1854
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1845 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History

Platt is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling District of Kent Platt Kent Wikipedia.

Platt St Mary was formed from Wrotham, Kent Ancient Parish and includes Crouch within the parish boundary.

The church of St Mary Comp Lane Platt which dates from 1841-1842 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See kent Churches website

See Platt St Mary North West Kent Family History Society

PLATT, a chapelry in Wrotham parish, Kent; 5 miles N E of Sevenoaks r. station. It was constituted in 1846, and its post town is Sevenoaks. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Canterbury. Patron, the Archbishop of Canterbury. . The church was built in 1845, and is a handsome edifice. Schools also were built in 1845.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Platt parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Platt Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax

Images for the Borough of Nepicar are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.




Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

PLATT, a chapelry in Wrotham parish, Kent.

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.[3]

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed 20 November, 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 27th April 2013