To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Plano Texas Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Plano Texas Family History Center

The Plano Family History Center is a non-circulating branch of the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. It is sponsored by the Plano Stake of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and serves members and non-members of the Church alike.

The facilities and access to its holdings are free of charge. There are nominal fees for printing, copying and other consumable materials.

The volunteers, who staff the Family History Center, do not do family history research for patrons, but are available for personalized assistance, if desired. The staff can also provide instructions in the use of the computer systems and assist patrons in finding and using materials in the FamilySearch Center.


Texas Plano FHC

Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location Map: Location Map

Address: 2700 Roundrock Trail Plano, Texas 75075

  • Language: English

Phone: 972-867-6479

E-mail: TX_Plano@ldsmail.net

Hours Open:

  • Tuesday: 9:15am-8:30pm
  • Wednesday: 9:15am-1:00pm
  • Thursday: 9:15am-8:30pm

Closure Schedule:

2019: November 26-28, December 24-Jan 2, 2020

2020: March 10-12, July 7-30, November 24-26, December 22-31

Upcoming Events: Great Family Search-October 19, 2019[edit | edit source]

(Check greatfamilysearch.com for more info)[edit | edit source]

Class Schedule[edit | edit source]

Consultant Training Meetings[edit | edit source]

4th Thursday of January - May, August - September.

Center Resources[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Book Collection: In excess of 400 books are available for use covering genealogical instructional and research aids, county histories and records; church records; family histories; foreign language dictionaries and other research aids are included in the collection at the FHC.
  • Indefinite Film Collection - Patrons may select from more than 1400 rolls of microfilm covering original and collected records which make up the permanent collection of microfilms in the Center. Films may be viewed on one of the microfilm readers in the Center.
  • Patrons' Microfiche Collection - Patrons may select from our current collection of more than 3600 sets of microfiche from the collection of more than 1,000,000 fiche in the FamilySearch Library collection for viewing in the Family History Center on the fiche reader.

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

FHC Portal: This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. The websites are:

  • 19th Century British Library Newspaper Archive
  • Alexander Street Press, American Civil War
  • American Ancestors
  • Ancestry.com
  • ArkivDigital Online
  • FamNet
  • Find My Past
  • 1911 British Census
  • Fold3
  • Geneanet
  • The Genealogist
  • Kinpoint Premium
  • MyHeritage-Library Edition
  • Newspapers.com
  • Paper Trail
  • Puzzilla
  • Military Index - Includes US military personnel who died in combat in Korea or Vietnam between 1850 and 1975
  • Scottish Church Records - An event oriented index of approximately 10 million births or christenings and marriages (1580s-1850s) recorded in all extant Church of Scotland (Presbyterian Church) parish registers

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

  • 7 Computers with internet connection.
  • 3 Microfilm readers
  • 1 Microfiche reader
  • 1 Microfilm/fiche reader/copier to paper
  • 1 Microfilm/fiche digital reader/copier to flash drive, CD or paper

Center Services[edit | edit source]

Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]

(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Bountiful and Chattanooga FHC pages for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]

(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)

Links[edit | edit source]

Genealogically helpful web sites

Collin County, Texas Courthouse - Internet Explorer 5.5 or later

Plano Public Library - Research Databases

Collin County Genealogical Society

Genealogy Friends of the Plano Library