Pitton and Farley, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Pitton and Farley

Guide to Pitton And Farley, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pitton and Farley, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alderbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661; For more records see Alderbury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Treasurer of Salisbury in the Prebendal of Calne
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

PITTON, a chapelry, in the parish, union, and hundred of Alderbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S.divisions of Wiltshire. It is located 4½ miles (E. by N.) from Salisbury and 4 miles (E by N) of Salisbury railway station. [1] [2][3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pitton and Farley, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Pitton and Farley, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1605-1837
NIM 1605-1837
1605-1837
1605-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 573-576. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Pisford - Playford', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 573-576. British HistoryDate accessed: 09 October 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.