To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Piscataquis County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Piscataquis County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Piscataquis County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded March 23, 1838
County Seat Dover-Foxcroft
Courthouse
Address Piscataquis County Courthouse
51 E. Main Street
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426
Phone: 207.564.2161
Piscataquis County Website


Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Abenaki word meaning "branch of the river". The County has Dover-Foxcroft as its seat and the County was created March 23, 1838. The County is located in the central area of the state.[1]

Piscataquis County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1892 1892 1838 1838 1838 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

  • Town clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
  • Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records.
  • Probate Court has probate records.
  • Register of Deeds has land records.[3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1838 - Created 23 March 1838, from Penobscot and Somerset counties.[3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1844 - A part was added to Aroostook County 12 March 1844.[3]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

MainePiscataquis CountyPenobscot CountySomerset CountyAroostook CountyTownship 10 R15Township 10 R14Township 10 R13Township 10 R12Township 10 R11Township 10 R10Township 10 R9Township 9 R15Township 9 R14Township 9 R13Township 9 R12Township 9 R11Township 9 R10Township 9 R9Township 8 R15Township 8 R14Eagle Lake TownshipSoper Mountain TownshipTownship 8 R11Township 8 R10Township 8 R9Township 7 R15Township 7 R14Township 7 R13Township 7 R12Township 7 R11Township 7 R10Township 7 R9Township 6 R15Township 6 R14Township 6 R13Township 6 R12Township 6 R11Township 6 R10Trout Brook TownshipTownship 5 R15Township 5 R14Chesuncook TownshipTownship 5 R12Township 5 R11Nesourdnahunk TownshipTownship 5 R9Township 4 R15Township 4 R14Township 4 R13 (once part of Chesuncook)Township 4 R12Township 4 R11Township 4 R10Township 4 R9Northeast Carry TownshipLobster TownshipTownship 3 R13Township 3 R12Township 3 R11Township 3 R10Mount Katahdin TownshipKineo TownshipDays Academy Grant TownshipEast Middlesex Canal Grant TownshipTownship X R14Township 2 R13Township 2 R12Rainbow TownshipTownship 2 R10Township 2 R9 WELSSpencer Bay TownshipTownship 1 R13Township 1 R12Township 1 R11Township 1 R10Ambejejus Lake TownshipLily Bay TownshipFrenchtown TownshipShawtown TownshipTownship A R11Township A R10Big Moose TownshipHarford's Point TownshipCove Point TownshipBeaver CoveMoosehead Junction TownshipCove Point TownshipGreenvilleBowdoin College Grant West TownshipBowdoin College Grant East TownshipTownship B R11Township B R10ShirleyElliottsville TownshipTownship 7 R9Katahdin Iron Works TownshipEbeemee TownshipTownship 4 R9Blanchard TownshipMonsonWillimanticBowerbankBarnard TownshipWilliamsburg TownshipBrownvilleLake View PlantationKingsbury PlantationAbbotGuilfordDover-FoxcroftWellingtonParkmanSangervilleSebecAtkinsonMiloOrneville TownshipMedfordTownship 11 R17Township 11 R16Township 11 R15Township 11 R14Township 11 R13Township 11 R12Township 11 R11Township 11 R10Township 11 R9Township 11 R8Township 11 R7Township 10 R8Township 10 R7Township 9 R8Township 9 R7Township 8 R8Township 8 R7Township 7 R8Township 7 R7Township 6 R8Township 6 R7Township 5 R8Township 5 R7Township 4 R8Township 4 R7Township 3 R8Township 3 R7Township 2 R8 WELSSoldiertown TownshipTownship 1 R8Grindstone TownshipTownship 4 Indian PurchaseTownship 3 Indian PurchaseMillinocketVeazie GoreLong A TownshipHopkins Academy GrantTownship 3 R9Township 2 R9 NWPSeboeis PlantationTownship 2 R8 NWPMaxfieldHowlandLagrangeEdinburgArgyle TownshipAltonBradfordHudsonCharlestonCorinthGarlandExeterDexterCorinnaCambridgeRipleySaint AlbansHarmonyAthensSolonEmbdenBrighton PlantationBinghamConcord TownshipPleasant Ridge PlantationMoscowMayfield TownshipBald Mountain TownshipCaratunkEast Moxie TownshipThe Forks PlantationMoxie GoreSquaretown TownshipWest ForksIndian Stream TownshipChase Stream TownshipMisery TownshipSaplin TownshipMisery GoreSandbar TractSandwich Academy GrantTaunton and Rayham Academy GrantRockwood StripBrassua TownshipTomhegan TownshipSoldiertown TownshipWest Middlesex Canal GrantBig W TownshipLittle W TownshipPittston TownshipPlymouth TownshipSeeboomook TownshipTownship 4 R17Elm Stream TownshipTownship 5 R17Russell Pond TownshipTownship 6 R17Saint John TownshipTownship 7 R17Township 7 R16Township 8 R17Township 8 R16Township 9 R17Township 9 R16Big Ten TownshipTownship 10 R16
Modern town borders in Piscataquis County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Plantations: Kingsbury Plantation | Lake View Plantation. For further details see Maine plantations.

Extinct towns and plantations:[4]  Barnard | Blanchard | Chesuncook Plantation | Elliottsville | Katahdin Iron Works Plantation | Orneville | Williamsburg | Wilson[5]

Unorganized territories. NWP=North of Waldo Patent; WELS=West of the Easterly Line of the State. For further details see Maine townships.

  • Blanchard Township
  • Northeast Piscataquis
    • Twp 6 R8 NWP (Williamsburg)
    • Barnard Township
    • Township 4 R9 NWP
    • Twp 5 R9 NWP (Ebeemee)
    • Township 6 R9 NWP (Katahdin Iron Works)
    • Township 7 R9 NWP
    • Elliottsville Township
    • Township B R10 WELS
    • Township B R11 WELS
    • Township 7 R10 NWP (Bowdoin College East )
    • Township 8 R10 NWP (Bowdoin College West )
    • Township A R10 WELS
    • Township A R11 WELS
    • Twp A R12 WELS (Shawtown)
    • Township A R13 WELS (Frenchtown or Kakadjo)
    • Township 1 R9 WELS (Ambejejus Lake)
    • Township 1 R10 WELS
    • Township 1 R11 WELS
    • Township 1 R12 WELS
    • Township 1 R13 WELS
    • Township 2 R9 WELS
    • Township 2 R10 WELS
    • Twp 2 R11 WELS (Rainbow)
    • Township 2 R12 WELS
    • Twp 3 R9 WELS (Mt. Katahdin)
    • Township 3 R10 WELS
    • Township 3 R11 WELS
    • Township 4 R9 WELS
    • Township 4 R10 WELS
    • Township 4 R11 WELS
    • Township 5 R9 WELS
    • Township 5 R10 WELS (Nesourdnahunk)
    • Township 5 R11 WELS
    • Twp 6 R9 WELS (Trout Brook)
    • Township 6 R10 WELS
    • Township 6 R11 WELS
    • Township 7 R9 WELS
    • Township 7 R10 WELS
    • Township 7 R11 WELS
    • Township 8 R9 WELS
    • Township 8 R10 WELS
    • Township 8 R11 WELS
    • Township 9 R9 WELS
    • Township 9 R10 WELS
    • Township 9 R11 WELS
    • Township 10 R9 WELS
    • Township 10 R10 WELS
    • Township 10 R11 WELS
    • Township 10 R12 WELS
  • Northwest Piscataquis
    • Cove Point Township
    • Moosehead Junction Township
    • Harford's Point Township
    • Big Moose Township
    • Township A R14 WELS (Lily Bay)
    • Twp 1 R14 WELS (Spencer Bay)
    • Days Academy Grant Township
    • Kineo Island Township
    • Township 2 R13 WELS
    • Township X R14 WELS
    • East Middlesex Canal Grant Twp
    • Township 3 R12 WELS
    • Township 3 R13 WELS
    • Township 3 R14 WELS (Lobster)
    • Township 3 R15 WELS (Northeast Carry or Burbank)
    • Township 4 R12 WELS
    • Twp 4 R13 WELS (part of Chesuncook before 1921)
    • Township 4 R14 WELS
    • Township 4 R15 WELS
    • Township 5 R12 WELS
    • Twp 5 R13 WELS (Chesuncook)
    • Township 5 R14 WELS
    • Township 5 R15 WELS
    • Township 6 R12 WELS
    • Township 6 R13 WELS
    • Township 6 R14 WELS
    • Township 6 R15 WELS
    • Township 7 R12 WELS
    • Township 7 R13 WELS
    • Township 7 R14 WELS
    • Township R15 WELS
    • Twp 8 R12 WELS (Soper Mtn.)
    • Twp 8 R13 WELS (Eagle Lake)
    • Township 8 R14 WELS
    • Township 8 R15 WELS
    • Township 9 R12 WELS
    • Township 9 R13 WELS
    • Township 9 R14 WELS
    • Township 9 R15 WELS
    • Township 10 R13 WELS
    • Township 10 R14 WELS
    • Township 10 R15 WELS
  • Southeast Piscataquis

Communities   ▪ Guilford   ▪ Milo

Neighboring Counties:  Aroostook | Penobscot | Somerset

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
ME Interment
Billion Graves
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Piscataquis CountyAroostook CountyPenobscot CountySomerset CountyME PISCATAQUIS.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company D

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Piscataquis County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piscataquis_County,_Maine."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Piscataquis County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181, and 305. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  5. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 111. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.