Pinellas County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Pinellas County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pinellas County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||May 23, 1911|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Pinellas County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Pinellas County Courthouse;
315 Ct St;
Clearwater, FL 34616-5165;
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorece, probate, court and land records from 1912. 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Punta Piñal (Spanish for "Point of Pines" or "Piney Point"). The county seat is Clearwater and the county was created January 1st, 1912. The County is located in the Westcentral area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site may have additional information on Pinellas County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Pinellas County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- St. Petersburg
Court[edit | edit source]
Immigration[edit | edit source]
NARA Ships Passenger Lists
These passenger lists cover:
1834 - 1897 Immigration of Russians to the United States
1/12/1846 -12/31/1851 Irish Famine
1850 - 1897 Germans to the United States
1855 - 1900 Italians to the United States
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Pinellas County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Military[edit | edit source]
- Pinellas County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to Pinellas County World War I Service Cards
- The Last World War I Veterans (FLGenWeb Project)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Pinellas County Casualties of WW II ...Army & Air Force (FLGenWeb Project)
- Pinellas County Navy, Marine and Coast Guard KIA Casualties...WWII (FLGenWeb Project)
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Pinellas County Korean War Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pinellas County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- U.S. Hidden Ancestors Obituaries
- USGenWeb Obituaries Project Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Clerk of Court and are housed at the Courthouse (top of page). See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974
- Florida State Archives $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877 - 1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
The Pinellas Genealogy Society is allied with the Largo Public Library for the promotion of genealogical research and providing free genealogy education. The combined resources of the Library and the Society make the resulting Genealogy Center the most extensive in Pinellas County, Florida, and one of the top in the state.
Pinellas Genealogy Society, Inc.
c/o Largo Library
120 Central Park Drive
Largo, Fl 33771-2110
Pinellas Genealogy Society Website
Suncoast Genealogy Society, Inc.
PO Box 1294
Palm Harbor, FL 34682-1294
The Largo Public Library Genealogy Center
120 Central Park Drive
Largo, FL 33771-2110
Genealogy Help Desk (727) 586-7410
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Pinellas County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FLGenWeb Project - free genealogy resources; part of the USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Pinellas County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FLGenWeb Project, Inc-Pinellas County Genealogy and History
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pinellas County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pinellas County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pinellas County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinellas_County,_Florida 04/26/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pinellas County County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinellas_County,_Florida, accessed Feb 1 2018.