Pike County, Mississippi Genealogy
Guide to Pike County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pike County, Mississippi|
Location in the state of Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
|Founded||9 December, 1815|
|Address|| Pike County Courthouse|
PO Box 309
Magnolia, Ms 39652
Pike County Courthouse
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Zebulon Pike. The County has Magnolia as its seat and the County was created 1815. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
Pike County, Mississippi Record Dates
For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1882--Some records were lost.
Compilation of online resources for African American genealogy research by Shannon Gorman. 
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1805 - 1890 Mississippi, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1805-1890 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1660 - 1820 U.S. Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1792 - 1866 Mississippi, State and Territorial Census Collection, 1792-1866 at Ancestry.com — index $
For tips on accessing Pike County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Pike County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
- Maps of Mississippi (1785-1918)
- Family Maps of Pike County, Mississippi Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1861-1865 - Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1861-1865 - Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1889-1942 - Mississippi, Confederate Records, 1889-1942 at FamilySearch — images
- 1900-1974 - Mississippi, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1900-1974 at FamilySearch — images
- Men from Pike County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pike County.
- - 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
- Company E - McNair Rifles, aka Pike County Rifles
- - 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company I - Stockdale Rangers
- - 7th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company B - Bogue Chitto Guards
- Company H - Dahlgren Rifles
World War I and II
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- 1780 – 1982 Mississippi Wills and Probate Records 1780-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1781 – 1930 Mississippi Probate Records 1781-1930 at FamilySearch — images
- Probate records, 1882-1948 Viewable
- Probate records, 1882-1957 Viewable
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
- 1800 - 1911 Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1776 - 1935 Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1826 - 1900 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1826 - 50 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry.com — index $
- to 1825 Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1882-1885 - Pike County Marriage Books A and B Index 1882-1885. Batch M520231 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1888-1895 - Pike County Marriage Books C and D Index 1888-1895. Batch M520234 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1890-1901 - Pike County Marriage Books D and E Index 1890-1901. Batches M520233 and M749942 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1895 - Pike County Marriage Book F Index 1895. Batch M520235 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1895-1901 - Pike County Marriage Books F thru H Index 1895-1901. Batch M749937 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1897-1904 - Pike County Marriage Books G thru I Index 1897-1904. Batch M749938 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1901-1906 - Pike County Marriage Books J thru L Index 1901-1906. Batch M749975 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1904-1910 - Pike County Marriage Books K thru N Index 1904-1910. Batch M749940 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1906-1911 - Pike County Marriage Books M thru O Index 1906-1911. Batch M749962 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1910-1916 - Pike County Marriage Books P thru R Index 1910-1916. Batch M749941 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1911-1917 - Pike County Marriage Books Q thru S Index 1911-1917. Batch M749955 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1916-1921 - Pike County Marriage Books T thru V Index 1916-1921. Batch M749988 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1917-1922 - Pike County Marriage Books U thru W Index 1917-1922. Batch M749977 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1921-1924 - Pike County Marriage Book X Index 1921-1924. Batch M749987 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1922-1927 - Pike County Marriage Books Y and Z Index 1922-1927. Batch M749956 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1924-1927 - Pike County Marriage Book AA Index 1924-1927. Batch M749939 at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Pike County, MS History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pike, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_County,_Mississippi."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Mississippi page 382, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.