Pike County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Pike County
 

Guide to Pike County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Murfreesboro
Organized: November 1, 1833
Parent County(s): Clark and Hempstead[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Hempstead  • Howard  • Montgomery  • Nevada  • Polk
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasPikeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-pike.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named explorer, Zebulon Pike, who discovered Pike's Peak in Colorado. The County Seat is Murfreesboro and was founded November 1, 1833.[2] It is located in the southeast central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Pike County Courthouse
P.O. Box 219
Murfreesboro, AR 71958
Phone: 870.285.2231
Pike County Website

County Clerk has marriage, probate, court, land and military discharge records from 1895.[4]

Pike County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1895 1914* 1895 1895 1895 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1895 A courthouse fire destroyed most records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1833--Pike County was created 1 November 1833 from Clark and Hempstead Counties.
  • County seat: Murfreesboro[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
  • Nathan
  • Pisgah
  • Salem
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Missouri (Delight)
  • Mountain
  • Muddy Fork
  • Pike City
  • Saline
  • Self Creek (Daisy, part of CDP Kirby)


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Pike County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Pike History and Culture. [8]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Pike, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 696
1850 1,861 167.4%
1860 4,025 116.3%
1870 3,788 −5.9%
1880 6,345 67.5%
1890 8,537 34.5%
1900 10,301 20.7%
1910 12,565 22.0%
1920 12,397 −1.3%
1930 11,792 −4.9%
1940 11,786 −0.1%
1950 10,032 −14.9%
1960 7,864 −21.6%
1970 8,711 10.8%
1980 10,373 19.1%
1990 10,086 −2.8%
2000 11,303 12.1%
2010 11,291 −0.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Polk CountyMontgomery CountyGarland CountyHoward CountyClark CountyHempstead CountyNevada CountyAR PIKE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Pike County on page 191.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Pike County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[9], Companies C, I, and M

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

The Pike County Archives and History Society is located in the new Archives offices at
112 N. Washington Avenue
Murfreesboro, Arkansas
Phone: 870-285-9157
E-mail: pcahs@windstream.net

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Pike County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/pike/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Pike County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County, Arkansas. Page 69 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Pike County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_County,_Arkansas, accessed 13 September 2018.
  8. Doris Russell Foshee, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=798&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Pike County.”
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.