Pike County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pike County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Pike County
 

Guide to Pike County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Murfreesboro
Organized: November 1, 1833
Parent County(s): Clark and Hempstead[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Hempstead  • Howard  • Montgomery  • Nevada  • Polk
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasPikeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-pike.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Pike County Courthouse
P.O. Box 219
Murfreesboro, AR 71958
Phone: 870.285.2231
Pike County Website

County Clerk has marriage, probate, court, land and military discharge records from 1895.[2]

Pike County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1895 1914* 1895 1895 1895
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1895 A courthouse fire destroyed most records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1833--Pike County was created 1 November 1833 from Clark and Hempstead Counties.
  • County seat: Murfreesboro[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Pike County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Pike County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Pike History and Culture. [5]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Pike County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Pike CountyGarland CountyMontgomery CountyHot Spring CountyClark CountyNevada CountyLittle River CountyHempstead CountyOuachita CountySevier CountyHoward CountyScott CountyPolk CountyARPike.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Pike County on page 191.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Pike County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[6], Companies C, I, and M

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

The Pike County Archives and History Society is located in the new Archives offices at
112 N. Washington Avenue
Murfreesboro, Arkansas
Phone: 870-285-9157
E-mail: pcahs@windstream.net

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Doris Russell Foshee, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=798&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Pike County.”
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.