To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Pike County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pike County, Alabama)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pike County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Pike County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Pike County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 17, 1821
County Seat Troy
Courthouse
Pike County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Pike County Courthouse
120 W Church Street
P O Box 1147
Troy, Alabama 36081
Phone: 334-566-6374
County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Pike County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1881 1830 1881 1830 1830 1830 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records from 1830
Birth Records 1881-1904 Death Records 1881-1891 and 1902-1905 [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named of General Zebulon Pike, of New Jersey, an explorer who led an expedition to southern Colorado and discovered Pikes Peak in 1806. The County has Troy as its seat and the County was created December 17, 1821.[3] The County is located in the south central area of the state.[4]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1821--Pike County was created 17 December 1821 from Henry and Montgomery Counties.
County seat: Troy [5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Fire.png

Pike County had a destructive courthouse fire in 1828. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 28 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Pike County: [7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
  • Cross Roads
  • Darbys
  • Dixon
  • East Pleasant
  • Goshen
  • Goshen Hill
  • Grimes
  • Henderson
  • Indian Branch
  • Josie
  • Kings
  • Linwood
  • Little Oak
  • Mitchells
  • Monticello
  • Oates Crossroads
  • Saco
  • Tanyard


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Alpike.jpg

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Pike, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Pike county cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18307,108
184010,10842.2%
185015,92057.5%
186024,43553.5%
187017,423−28.7%
188020,64018.5%
189024,42318.3%
190029,17219.4%
191030,8155.6%
192031,6312.6%
193032,2401.9%
194032,4930.8%
195030,608−5.8%
196025,987−15.1%
197025,038−3.7%
198028,05012.0%
199027,595−1.6%
200029,6057.3%
201032,89911.1%
Est. 201132,91511.2%

For tips on accessing Pike County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Church Records

  • Pike
  • Coffee

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Pike County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Pike County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.135 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Pike County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

MontgomeryBullockBarbourDaleCoffeeCrenshawAL PIKE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Pike County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Pike County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A, F and I
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C (Perote Guards)
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Rough and Ready Pioneers)
- 4th Battalion, Alabama Cavalry (Love's), Company A
- 4th Battalion, Alabama Cavalry (Love's), Company A
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Brundidge Guards)
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I and L
- 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I (Pike Rangers)
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (A. B. Moore's Invincibles)
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I and K
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and K
- 37th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C, F and K
- 39th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and H
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company B
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and G

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Alabama Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Pike County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Pike County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Pike County is in District 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
  • 1830-1849 - Hageness, MariLee Beatty. Marriages 1830-1849 Pike County, Alabama. Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 1998. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.


Death Records[edit | edit source]
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Pike County has two books:

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Pike County Historical and Genealogical Society
1305 S. Brundidge St. STE A PMB# 277
Troy, Alabama 36081
Telephone: 334-372-3529
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Troy Public Library
300 North Three Notch Street
Troy, Alabama 36081
Telephone: 334-566-1314
Website
Their genealogy collection includes probate records, newspapers, census, military records, local history books, family histories, and more.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centre Locator

Pike County Alabama Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Pike County Alabama Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Pike County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/pike/ 6/26/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Pike, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_County,_Alabama 6/26/2017.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 28. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Pike County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_County,_Alabama, accessed 23 October 2018.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.