Pierce County, Wisconsin Genealogy
Guide to Pierce County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pierce County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||March 11, 1858|
|Address|| Pierce County Courthouse|
4414 W Main; PO Box 119
Ellsworth, WI 54011
Pierce County Courthouse
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Local Histories
- 5.15 Maps
- 5.16 Migration
- 5.17 Military History and Records
- 5.18 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.19 Newspapers
- 5.20 Obituaries
- 5.21 Periodicals
- 5.22 Probate Records
- 5.23 Repositories
- 5.24 Societies
- 5.25 Taxation
- 5.26 Vital Records
- 5.27 Vital Records
- 5.28 Voting Registers
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Pierce County, Wisconsin Record Dates
Pierce County Courthouse
414 W Main; PO Box 119
Ellsworth, WI 54011
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.|
- Pierce County, Wisconsin State & Federal Census Index This is a work in progress. WIGenWeb project
- 1850 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
- Pierce County Census Records - Scroll down to the Census heading. This site has images for Federal Censuses from 1860 to 1920, including page numbers for the various townships. USGenWeb Archives
Church History and Records
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Pierce County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
United Church of Christ
- St Paul's United Church of Christ, Ellsworth, Wisconsin old church records
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Land and Property
- Pierce County Wisconsin - RootsWeb
- Pierce County Land Patents USGenWeb Archives - Scroll down to "Land"
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Pierce County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Pierce County, Wisconsin: Map - Wisconsin Online
Military History and Records
- Pierce County Military USGenWeb Archives
Civil War service men from Pierce County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Pierce County.
- - 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- - 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company M
- - 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B
- - 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- - 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A and D
- - 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
World War I
- Pierce County in the World War WIGenWeb project
- World War I Civilian Draft Registrations WIGenWeb project
=World War II
- State of Wisconsin Casualty Lists WIGenWeb project
(Veteran Photos WIGenWeb project
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Pierce County Naturalizations, 1858-1896 WIGenWeb project
- Pierce County Naturalizations, 1897-1903 WIGenWeb project
- Naturalizations, 1903, cont.-1906 WIGenWeb project
- Declarations of Intent WIGenWeb project
- Pierce County Obituaries WIGenWeb project
- Pierce County Obituaries USGenWeb Archives - Scroll down to "Obits"
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
University Archives and Area Research Center
170 Chalmer Davee Library
Fax (715) 425-0609
Family History Centers
- Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Pierce County Historical Assn
PO Box 148
Ellsworth, WI 54011
Prescott Welcome and Heritage Center
233 Broad St N
Prescott, WI 54021
St Croix Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 396
River Falls, WI 54022
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Pierce County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Pierce County WIGenWeb project
- Pierce County USGenWeb Archives
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Pierce Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).