Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Pickens County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pickens County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 5, 1853|
|Address|| Pickens County Courthouse|
52 North Main Street
Jasper, GA 30143
Pickens County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 5.19 Voter Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Pickens County, Georgia Record Dates
Pickens County Courthouse
52 North Main Street
Jasper, GA 30143
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1854.
Clerk of Superior Court
50 North Main St.
Jasper, GA 30143
Phone: (706) 253-8763
Fax: (706) 253-8825
Probate Court of Pickens County
50 North Main Street
Jasper, GA 30143
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1947 The courthouse at Jasper burned 4 February 1947. The vast majority of county records survived.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
The following web site may have additional information on Pickens County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Georgia cemetery records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
- 1885-1886 - Divorces 1885-1886 (from newspapers) Georgia Pioneers $
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- Tate, Luke E. History of Pickens County. Atlanta, Ga.: Press of W.W. Brown Pub. Co., c1935. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Service men in Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 1st Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Union), Company D
- - 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- - 36th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Broyles') (Confederate), Company L
- - 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and L
- - 65th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Pickens County). 1964. Confederate pension roll, 1890-1941. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 393210
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
- 1868-1873 - Legal Advertising 1868-1873 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- 1854-1887 - Index to Will Book A, 1854-1887 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1887-1935 - Index to Will Book B, 1887-1935 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1854-1880 - Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Estates, Book A, 1854-1880 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1854-1887 - Wills, 1854-1887 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
- 1560 - 1993 - Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1824 - 1850 - Marriages 1824-1850 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1854 - 1877 - Pickens County Marriage Index 1854-1877. Batch M713491 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1871 - 1948 - Loose marriage papers have also been indexed covering the years 1871 through 1948:
- A to C Surnames - Batch M713492 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- D to G Surnames - Batch M713493 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- H to L Surnames - Batch M713494 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- M to P Surnames - Batch M713495 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- Q to T Surnames - Batch M713496 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- U to Z Surnames - Batch M713497 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1914 - 1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1928 - 1942 - Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Vital Record Substitutes
- 1867-1868 - Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Marble Valley Historical Society
PO Box 815
Jasper, Georgia 30143
Telephone Number: 706-268-3311
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Pickens County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pickens County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 48. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.