Pickens County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pickens County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Carrollton
Organized: December 19, 1820
Parent County(s): Tuscaloosa[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fayette  • Greene  • Lamar  • Lowndes (MS)  • Noxubee (MS)  • Tuscaloosa
See County Maps
Courthouse
Pickens County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Pickens County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the revolutionary war hero General Andrew Pickens of South Carolina.[2] The County is located in the west-central area of the state.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Pickens County Courthouse
20 Phoenix Ave
PO Box 418
Carrollton, Al 35447
Phone: 205-367-2050
Fax: 205-367-2054
Pickens County Website

Probate Judge has marriage probate and land records from 1876
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records [3]

Pickens County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1903 1876 1903 1876 1876 1876 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Pickens County had destructive courthouse fires in 1864, and 1876. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 28 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1820--Pickens County was created 19 December 1820 from Tuscaloosa.
  • County seat: Carrollton[6]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Pickens County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Archer
  • Beards Mill
  • Beaver Town
  • Benevola
  • Bethlehem
  • Bostic
  • Bridgeville
  • Carloss
  • Coal Fire
  • Cochrane
  • Cunningham
  • Dancy
  • Delma
  • Dillburg
  • Hickory
  • Kirk
  • Lathrop
  • Liberty
  • Lois Spring
  • Lubbub
  • McShan
  • Melrose
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Pickens, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Pickens county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 6,622
1840 17,118 158.5%
1850 21,512 25.7%
1860 22,316 3.7%
1870 17,690 −20.7%
1880 21,479 21.4%
1890 22,470 4.6%
1900 24,402 8.6%
1910 25,055 2.7%
1920 25,353 1.2%
1930 24,902 −1.8%
1940 27,671 11.1%
1950 24,349 −12.0%
1960 21,882 −10.1%
1970 20,326 −7.1%
1980 21,481 5.7%
1990 20,699 −3.6%
2000 20,949 1.2%
2010 19,746 −5.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Pickens County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • McGuire, Mrs. C.P. Records of Pickens County, Alabama. Tuscaloosa, Ala.: Willo Publishing Company, n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
Biographies, census records, church records, Civil War records, Indians, Revolutionary War soldiers, and War of 1812 soldiers.
  • Elliott, Carl. Annals of Northwest Alabama: Including a Reprint of Nelson F. Smith's History of Pickens County, Ala. (1856). Tuscaloosa, Ala.: Priv. print., 1958. Digital version at Ancestry

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

LamarFayetteTuscaloosaGreeneSumterNoxubee County, MSLowndes County, MSAL PICKENS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Pickens County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pickens County:

- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company H
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Pickens County Guards"
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A (Pickens Rough and Readys)
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Dixie Boys"
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and G
- 41st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, C, D, I and K
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and D

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Pickens County is in District 2.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Pickens County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.

Pickens County Cooperative Library
Old Courthouse Square
P.O. Box 489
Carrollton, Alabama 35447
205-367-8407
Website
Includes the following libraries:

Aliceville Public Library
416 Third Avenue NE
Aliceville, Alabama 35442
205-373-6691
Carrollton Public Library
225 Commerce Avenue
P. O. Box 92
Carrollton, Alabama 35447
205-367-2142
Reform Public Library
302 1st Street South
P. O. Box 819
Reform, Alabama 35481
205-375-6240
Ruth Holliman Public Library
287 Main Street South
Gordo, Alabama
205-364-7148

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Pickens County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 38
Gordo, AL 35466
205-364-7830
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Pickens County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/pickens/ 6/26/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pickens County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  5. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 28. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Pickens County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pickens_County,_Alabama, accessed 25 October 2018.