Phillips County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Phillips County

Guide to Phillips County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Phillipsburg
Organized: February 26, 1867
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Franklin (NE)  • Furnas (NE)  • Graham  • Harlan (NE)  • Norton  • Rooks  • Smith
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasPhillipsCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Phillips County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for William Phillips, a Free-State supporter. The County has Phillipsburg as its seat and the County was created February 26, 1867.[2] The County is located in the north central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Phillips County Courthouse
301 State Street
Phillipsburg, Kansas 67661
Phone:785.543.6825
Phillips County Website

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records
City Clerk has death and burial records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records.
County Clerk has land records. [4]

Phillips County, Kansas Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1911 1872 1911 1873 1872 1872 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Phillips County, Kansas:[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Arcade
  • Beaver
  • Belmont
  • Bow Creek
  • Crystal
  • Dayton
  • Deer Creek
  • Freedom
  • Glenwood
  • Granite
  • Greenwood
  • Kirwin
  • Logan
  • Long Island
  • Mound
  • Phillipsburg
  • Plainview
  • Plum
  • Prairie View
  • Rushville
  • Solomon
  • Sumner
  • Towanda
  • Valley
  • Walnut
Ghost towns
  • Long Island


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Phillips County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 12,014
1890 13,661 13.7%
1900 14,442 5.7%
1910 14,150 −2.0%
1920 12,505 −11.6%
1930 12,159 −2.8%
1940 10,435 −14.2%
1950 9,273 −11.1%
1960 8,709 −6.1%
1970 7,888 −9.4%
1980 7,406 −6.1%
1990 6,590 −11.0%
2000 6,001 −8.9%
2010 5,642 −6.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[9] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[10] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Lutheran

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Agra, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Phillips County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Furnas County, NEHarlan County, NEFranklin County, NESmithOsborneRooksGrahamNortonPhillips, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

  • Phillips County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Phillips and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Kirwin City Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central.

Logan Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central.

Phillipsburg City Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central.

Museums

Societies

Phillips County Genealogical Society
PO Box 114
Phillipsburg 67661-0014
Website

Phillips County Historical Society
RR 2, Box 18a
Phillipsburg 67661

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Phillips, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/kan/phillips/ 9/11/2017."
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Phillips, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillips_County,_Kansas" 9/11/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Phillips County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 236.
  6. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Phillips County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillips_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 28 September 2017.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  10. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.