|Philippines Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Spanish Censuses[edit | edit source]
A census is a count and description of the population of a country, territory, province, or municipality. Census lists are also called schedules or enumerations.
Although Philippine censuses have not yet been indexed, you can still find excellent information, particularly in more recent censuses. Use the information with caution, however. Information may have been given by any family member or neighbor, and some may have been deliberately falsified.
Many early civil censuses were little more than a head count, often conducted by the local parish priest. They were for the sole purpose of determining the number of people subject to paying tribute taxes to the Spanish crown. Later censuses were generally more detailed, and included some valuable genealogical information.
Beginning in the late 1500s, the Spaniards took various censuses known as vecindarios (local censuses), padrón de almas (head census), or estado de almas (people status). The latter two were religious censuses conducted by parish clergy. Because they served both church and government purposes and are similar to the secular censuses, they are described here, rather than in the Philippines Church Records. Most Spanish census records are from 1800 to 1898 and cover the Luzon and Central Visayas regions. You will typically find:
- Marital status.
- Tribute status.
- Miscellaneous observations.
This information may be in columnar or narrative format. The church census records (estado de almas and padrón de almas) are more likely to be in a narrative form and generally give slightly more information than the government records.
The Family History Library has filmed most Spanish civil census records and many religious enumerations. To find the estado de almas and padrón de almas, look in the FamilySearch Catalog, Locality section, under “Church Records”:
PHILIPPINES, LAGUNA, MAJAYJAY CHURCH RECORDS
Vecindarios are censuses of all the inhabitants of a particular locality and can be found in the FamilySearch Catalog, Locality section, under “Census Records”:
PHILIPPINES, METROPOLITAN MANILA CENSUS RECORDS
The National Archives (Records Management and Archives Office) in Manila has 517 bundles of vecindarios and estadísticas (census statistics) from various provinces. However, the estadísticas give only statistics.
Searching Census Records[edit | edit source]
When searching census records, remember the following:
- Accept the ages with caution.
- Given names may not always be the same as the name recorded in vital records.
- Information may be falsified.
- Name-spelling may vary.
- Place-names may be misspelled or spelled phonetically.
- If a family is not at a suspected address, search the surrounding area.
- Some parts of the records may be difficult or impossible to read.
- When you find your family in one census, be sure to search that same location in the earlier and later census records for additional family members.
External Links[edit | edit source]
United States Censuses[edit | edit source]
Several censuses were taken in the Philippines during the time they were a territory of the United States, but only for US Military and Naval Personel whose duty stations were in the Philippines.
U.S. Federal population schedules and indexes[edit | edit source]
|Online U.S. Federal Population Schedules for the Philippines|
|Free||Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)||Pay|
|FamilySearch Record Search||Heritage Quest||Ancestry FHL ed.||Ancestry Library ed.||Ancestry Home ed.|
Available on Microfilm[edit | edit source]
1900. For a Soundex index on microfilm for U.S. military personnel in the Philippines see the Military and Naval, 1900 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules. For microfilms of the actual population schedules, see FHL film 1249701.
1903. Census of the Philippine Islands: Taken under the Direction of the Philippine Commission in the Year 1903 (Washington D.C.: U.S. Bureau of the Census, 1905) (FHL book 959.9 X2u; film 795716 and 795713)
1910. For a microfilm of the U.S. military population schedules for the Philippines, see the U.S. Military and Naval, 1910 Federal Census: Population Schedules. (FHL film 1375797).
1920. For a Soundex index and civilian populations schedules on microfilm, see Military-Naval, 1920 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules.
Sources and Footnotes[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Historical Records, a rapidly expanding set of free online indexes and document images, including many United States federal and state censuses; part of FamilySearch.
- HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.