Philippines, Manila Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Philippines

Access the Records
Philippines, Manila, Civil Registration, 1899-1984 .
CID1686086
{{{CID2}}}
{{{CID3}}}
{{{CID4}}}
{{{CID5}}}
{{{CID6}}}
{{{CID7}}}
{{{CID8}}}
{{{CID9}}}
This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.
Manila, Philippines
Philippines flag.png
Flag of the Republic of the Philippines
PH Locator Map Philippines Manila.png
Location of Manila, Philippines
Philippines on the Globe.png
Record Description
Record Type: Civil Registration
Collection years: 1899-1984
Languages: Spanish and English
Title in the Languages: Filipinas, Manila Registro Civil
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites
Archive
Manila Civil Registry


What Is In The Collection?

This collection includes birth, marriage, and death records for the city of Manila, Philippines. See the coverage table below for date ranges of each record group. The index currently covers birth certificates from 1900-1980.

Some folders of images are not arranged chronologically and/or sequentially.

Reading These Records

For the most part the records are in English. A few of the earlier records and sections of later records are written in Spanish; also see the section For Help Reading These Records for translation helps.

To Browse this Collection

You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Philippines, Manila, Civil Registration, 1899-1984.

What Can these Records Tell Me?

The following information is often found in these records:

Birth records Marriage records Death records
Name and gender of child Date and place of marriage Name, age and gender of deceased (keep in mind that death records for women may be filed under their married name)
Child’s date and place of birth Name and age of groom Marital status, nativity and race of deceased
Child’s race Groom’s marital status, nativity and residence Name of spouse
Name and birthplace of father Names of groom’s parents Day, month and year when death occurred
Father’s occupation Name and age of bride Place of death
Maiden name of mother and her birthplace Names of bride’s parents Duration of illness
Name of physician or midwife and their residence Bride’s marital status, nativity and residence Cause of death
Names of the witnesses and their residence Name of physician and his residence
Names of the person who gave consent On death certificates after 1958, birth date and birthplace of deceased
Name of the person who solemnized the marriage Sometimes, burial information or transit permit given
Beginning in 1945, the birthplace of bride and groom
Date of the marriage license
Date of the certificate (marriage contract)

Collection Contents

Sample Images

Coverage Table

Description Earliest Year Latest Year
Births 1898 1982
Marriages 1900 1984
Deaths 1890 1984

How Do I Search The Collection?

You can search the index or view the images or both. Before using this collection it is helpful to know:

  • Your ancestor's given name and surname
  • Identifying information such as residence
  • Estimated marriage or birth year

Search The Index

Search by name by visiting the Collection Page.

  1. Fill in the search boxes on the Collection Page with the information you have.
  2. Click Search to show possible matches.

For more tips about searching on-line collections see the on-line article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.

View The Images

View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page.

  1. Select Record Type
  2. Select Year
  3. Select Month and Certificate Numbers to view the images.

For Help Reading These Records

These records are in Spanish and English. For help reading the records that are in Spanish, see the following wiki articles:


How Do I Analyze the Results?

Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images.

What Do I Do Next?

I Found the Person I Was Looking for, What Now?

  • When you have located your ancestor’s record, carefully evaluate each piece of information given. Save a copy of the image or transcribe the information. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details such as a title, an occupation, or land ownership. Add this new information to your records of each family. You should also look for leads to other records about your ancestors.
  • Cite the record entry for future reference. Save or print a copy of the image if possible. The image citation is available by clicking on the information tab at the bottom left of the screen where you’ve found your ancestor.
  • Use the marriage date and place as the basis for compiling a new family group or for verifying existing information.
  • Use the birth date or age along with the place of birth of each spouse to find a couple's birth records and parents' names.
  • Use the birth date or age and the place of birth to find the family in census records. See the Philippines Census for more information.
  • Use the residence and names of the parents to locate church and land records. See the Philippines Land and Property for assistance.
  • Use the parents' birth places to find former residences and to establish a migration pattern for the family.
  • Continue to search the indexes and records to identify children, siblings, parents, and other relatives who may have lived in the same area or a nearby area. For this step, it helps to compile the marriage entries for every person who has the same surname as the bride or groom; this is especially helpful if the surname is unusual.
  • Witnesses often were relatives of the parents.

I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking for, What Now?

  • New information is constantly being indexed, microfilmed or updated. Periodically check back and see if your ancestor’s records have been added. You can see if the area you’ve been looking in has been recently updated by going to Historical Records Collections and notice the asterisk for recently added or updated records.
  • Church records are also a good source of genealogical information. You should obtain copies of both church records and civil registration, when possible, since they do not necessarily provide the same information. For example, baptismal registers sometimes provide the names of the fathers of illegitimate children when the civil registration does not.
  • There may be more than one person with the same name. When looking for a person who had a common name, look at all the entries for the name before deciding which is correct.
  • The name of a marriage officiator is a clue to their religion or area of residence in the province. However, ministers may have reported marriages performed in other provinces.
  • For marriage and death records, your ancestors may have used shortened names or nicknames, so pay attention to other relationships (parents, spouse, siblings, children, etc.) that can confirm whether you have the right person/record.
  • Church records are also a good source of genealogical information. If possible, you should obtain copies of both church records and civil registration, since they do not necessarily provide the same information. For example, baptismal registers sometimes provide the names of the fathers of illegitimate children when the civil registration does not.
  • Vary the search terms. For example, search by either the given name or surname to return broader list of possible candidates which can then be examined for matches. Or try expanding the date range; this is especially useful in searching baptismal records, as it was not unusual for a child to be baptized weeks or even months after birth.
  • Check for variants of given names, surnames, and place names. Transcription errors could occur in any handwritten record; also, it was not uncommon for an individual be listed under a nickname or an abbreviation of their name. Click here for a list of Spanish name abbreviations

Known Issues with This Collection

Important.png Problems with this collection?
See a list of known issues, workarounds, tips, restrictions, future fixes, news and other helpful information.

For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to support@familysearch.org. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.

Citing This Collection

Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.

Collection citation:

"Philippines, Manila Civil Registration, 1899-1984." Database with images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2017. Citing Civil Registrar's Office, Manila, Philippines.

Record citation (or citation for the index entry):

When looking at a record, the citation is found below the record. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for Philippines, Manila Civil Registration, 1899-1984.

Image citation:

When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Philippines, Manila Civil Registration, 1899-1984.


How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.