Philippines Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Philippines)
Jump to: navigation, search
Philippines Wiki Topics
Philippines flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Philippines Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Asia
Philippines

Guide to Philippines ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

The Philippines is an island country in Southeast Asia situated in the western Pacific Ocean. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official languages are Filipino and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Philippines Research

Links to articles on getting started with Philippines research.
Philippines Genealogy Research Using the Wiki - Video Series - Seven 5-6 minute videos

Philippines Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Philippines research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Philippines

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Philippines Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.


Finding Your Ancestors' Province in the Philippines

Once you know the town your Filipino ancestors lived in, you will need to determine which province the town belongs to. For this you will use this gazetteer:


Illustration of Philippines Gazetteer
Philippines gazetteer.png
Gazetteer Instructions

Abbreviations are defined beginning on page x of Volume 1. The RP under the title AREA number is a code for the province. On page xiv an xv (Volume 1), you will find a chart giving a key to the RP codes.


Philippines Clickable Map

The following map provides the locations of the many provinces in the Philippines, many of which have their own language:

BatanesCagayanApayaoIlocos NorteAbraIlocos SurKalingaMountainIsabelaIfugaoBenguetLa UnionNueva VizcayaQuirinoAuroraNueva EcijaTarlacPangasinanZambalesBataanBulacanMetropolitan ManilaMarinduqueRizalCaviteLagunaBatangasQuezonCamarines NorteCamarines SurCatanduanesAlbaySorsogonRomblonOccidental MindoroOccidental MindoroOriental MindoroMasbateNorthern SamarEastern SamarSamarLeyteSouthern LeyteDinagat IslandsBoholSiquijorCamiguinNegros OrientalGuimarasNegros OccidentalCapizAklanIloiloAntiqueCebuBiliranPalawanSurigao del NorteSurigao del SurAgusan del NorteAgusan del SurMisamis OrientalBukidnonCotabatoMaguindanaoMaguindanaoPampangaAuroraLanao del SurLanao del NorteMisamis OccidentalZamboanga SibugayZamboanga del SurZamboanga CityZamboanga del NorteDavao OccidentalDavao del SurSaranganiSouth CotabatoSultan KudaratDavao del NorteDavao del NorteCompostela ValleyDavao OrientalSuluBasilanTawi-TawiRepublic of the Philippines Provinces.png
About this image

Provinces

More Philippines Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools for Philippines.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Philippines," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philippines, accessed 28 March 2016.