Petsoe Manor, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Petsoe Manor


Guide to Petsoe Manor, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Petsoe Manor, Buckinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newport
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newport Pagnell
Registration District Newport Pagnell
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

Petsoe Manor, A hamlet, in the parish of Okeney union of Newport-Pagnell, hundred of Newport, county of Buckingham, 2 1/2 miles SE by S from Olney[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Petsoe Manor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Petsoe Manor Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1536-1918
1534-1933
1536-1992
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England pp. 558-564 Date accessed and adapted 25 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk